Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
ampersand78 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 03-2018
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
expansion characters and treasure cards usage


hi sorry if this is a stupid question. but im only just getting into WHQ and am creating the game myself from scratch. but in doing so i am also familiarising myself with the rules and one thing i just cant seem to find an answer for is the following

"on cards that say 'may only be used by X' how does this factor in for the characters that didnt come with the base game?"

for example - reaper sword in WD 187 says 'Barbarian only'
now there is no witch hunter in the base game. so are these text instructions on cards ONLY applicable to the base game characters?

there is also another card from WD 187 called 'Grimstone' that says 'Dwarf Only'
does this include the trollslayer?

as i say please excuse if ive missed something somewhere but i am kind of going in whole hog in order to learn and create the game so may of been a few things i am overlooking.

thanks emoticon
5/Aug/2018, 9:56 pm Link to this post Send Email to ampersand78   Send PM to ampersand78 Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Re: expansion characters and treasure cards usage


The manuals that come with each expansion character talk about which items are usable by the character. It varies from character to character, so it may say "can never use armor" or "may keep and use axes and hammers" or "may only use items of treasure that the Barbarian can use", etc, etc.

The character also has to qualify for the requirements on the card.

And yes, the Trollslayer and Brewmaster are dwarves and the Wardancer and Elf are, well, elves.

In the case of the Trollslayer and the Grimstone, the manual says that the Trollslayer "may keep and use...those magical items that don't deal with spellcasting." The Grimstone is has nothing to do with spellcasting and the Trollslayer is a dwarf, so he can keep and use it.

For the Witchhunter and the Reaper sword, the manual says the only hand-to-hand weapons a Witch Hunter may use are any form of sword or dagger, including magical items, but the manual says nothing about being able to use Barbarian items, so sadly, the Witchhunter cannot use that sword. Opinions may differ on this one, but I believe this is the proper way to rule it.

Last edited by RedDogMT, 6/Aug/2018, 1:36 am
6/Aug/2018, 1:24 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
ampersand78 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 03-2018
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
Re: expansion characters and treasure cards usage


thanks for the response RedDog

so it seems it is more a case of deviating within the rules to see whats relevant? seems a little long winded to me. but i guess it can also be left down to interpretation within the gaming group too.

so i know i wasnt really missing anything. it just wasnt that clear to find anyway. thank you emoticon
6/Aug/2018, 7:32 am Link to this post Send Email to ampersand78   Send PM to ampersand78 Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 431
Reply | Quote
Re: expansion characters and treasure cards usage


The "[Warrior] only" is a basic standard. The rules from any Expansion Warriors trump the original rules and items.

Therefore, since the Witch Hunter can use "any form of sword..." he can indeed use the Reaper Sword.

---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

6/Aug/2018, 3:29 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Re: expansion characters and treasure cards usage


quote:

Littlemonk wrote:

The "[Warrior] only" is a basic standard. The rules from any Expansion Warriors trump the original rules and items.

Therefore, since the Witch Hunter can use "any form of sword..." he can indeed use the Reaper Sword.

I would tend to defer to the brilliance that is the wise and knowledgeable Little Monk. Namaste. emoticon

@Littlemonk: But, I am curious if you know of a passage in the rules that gives support to the idea that the 'Barbarian Only' component of the card would be ignored by the Witchhunter as in this case with the Reaper sword. Thanks.
9/Aug/2018, 1:00 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 431
Reply | Quote
Re: expansion characters and treasure cards usage


I am basing it on just the fact that the Witch Hunter rules state that he can use "any sword."

The Warrior Priest can use "any magic item normally associated with the Wizard" and so forth.

So i think that the "Barbarian Only" was merely to limit the Elf, Dwarf, and Wizard warriors. In the case of these Expansion Warriors, some of them (such as the Witch Hunter) are a mix of different base warriors.

So i truly believe that they were intending the Witch Hunter to be "able to use any Sword that is normally available to the Barbarian."

---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

9/Aug/2018, 5:40 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)