Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2 

 
Glitch Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Skavenblight
Posts: 88
Reply | Quote
Chaos Warrior: Parrying Blade


Our Chaos Warrior rolled the Parrying Blade Chaos Artefact.

"This weapon reduces the Attacks of one of the Warrior's opponents by -1".

How would you interpret that, a single opponent per turn, a single opponent per combat? I think it means a single opponent per turn, but I think that this makes the weapon a tad too powerful.

(Admin EDIT: added Chaos Warrior to the Subject line)

Last edited by OldWarrior, 13/Nov/2011, 6:42 am
24/Apr/2003, 12:37 pm Link to this post Send Email to Glitch   Send PM to Glitch
 
Hieronymus Blitzen Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Colleges of Magic, Altdorf
Posts: 5
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


It seems all right to me. Everything else just wouldn�t make sense.
You should consider, that though the Chaos Warrior can be quite powerful, he also can easily turn into Chaos Spawn, wander off to the Chaos Wastes or become so mutated, that he won�t be allowed into settlements. These are problems other Warriors don�t face so there has to be some compensation.
24/Apr/2003, 9:17 pm Link to this post Send Email to Hieronymus Blitzen   Send PM to Hieronymus Blitzen
 
Glitch Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Skavenblight
Posts: 88
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


I do see your point. I'll just have to make sure he doesn't go first in a 1 square-wide corridor facing a group of Orcs emoticon
25/Apr/2003, 11:06 am Link to this post Send Email to Glitch   Send PM to Glitch
 
**legacy user**
Administrator
Local user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Waterfront Tavern
Posts: 187
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


It seems to me that it means once per turn.

Although I would probably make it you can only reduce the attacks of a Monster that the Chaos Warrior actually fought in the Warriors' Phase that turn. It seems a bit unlikely that if he attacks someone in front of him that he can do a full 180 degress turn just to parry an attack coming from behind him.
25/Apr/2003, 11:59 am Link to this post Send Email to Andrew MSN
 
Hieronymus Blitzen Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Colleges of Magic, Altdorf
Posts: 5
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


quote:

Andrew wrote:
Although I would probably make it you can only reduce the attacks of a Monster that the Chaos Warrior actually fought in the Warriors' Phase that turn. It seems a bit unlikely that if he attacks someone in front of him that he can do a full 180 degress turn just to parry an attack coming from behind him.



No, I�d say he can use it against any foe that makes an Attack against him. After all, facing is not part of WHQ-Rules and there is no rule for attacking someone from behind.
25/Apr/2003, 6:14 pm Link to this post Send Email to Hieronymus Blitzen   Send PM to Hieronymus Blitzen
 
Glitch Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Skavenblight
Posts: 88
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


My main concern with this was if he was facing a long row of single-attack Monsters, where no more than one Monster could attack him at one time. In this situation, he would be invincible, as he'd be able to parry the attacks of each Monster. Seems unlikely that such a situation would materialize though emoticon
26/Apr/2003, 2:10 am Link to this post Send Email to Glitch   Send PM to Glitch
 
PaulusWHQ Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 01-2005
Posts: 236
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


hi guys,
I can see this Parrying Blade work very well - eg if the wielder is attacked by 3 monsters, 1 of them loses 1 attack that phase.

If a minator or other creature with 2 or more attacks attacks the wielder of the Parrying Blade, he loses 1 of those attacks.

As far as i know, this will work - but I've never seen a 1x1 corridor - do they exist? the smallest i have seen so far is 2 squares wide.

btw - sorry to dig up old threads....
(i realised there were several pages with more threads here and it's great - its like a WHQ heaven) emoticon
6/Feb/2005, 7:16 am Link to this post Send Email to PaulusWHQ   Send PM to PaulusWHQ
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


NECROMANCER!!!! :bad: emoticon

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
7/Feb/2005, 1:31 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


quote:


NECROMANCER



Eh? Oh, I get it. He heh heh!

There are a few bottlenecks, such as a 'collapsed passageway' in the Lair of the Orc Lord and the good old Chasm o' Doom. But it's not a regular occurance.
7/Feb/2005, 3:41 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
PaulusWHQ Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 01-2005
Posts: 236
Reply | Quote
Re: Parrying Blade


LOL - i didnt get it emoticon
7/Feb/2005, 9:51 am Link to this post Send Email to PaulusWHQ   Send PM to PaulusWHQ
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)