Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
Andrew Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Waterfront Tavern
Posts: 187
Reply | Quote
 Fist of Gork rules?


The Shaman�s arms become enwrapped with glowing bands of power. Draw a Warrior counter to determine which Warrior is targeted. That Warrior suffers 1D6 hits at (Shaman�s Strength +4).

We've had problems with this spell for ages. How exactly do you work out the damage? Do you make 1D6 attacks against a Warrior and have to roll to see if any of them hit? Using WS or BS? Or because it says 1D6 hits does it mean they have already hit automatically?

Then for the damage, if the Shamans Strength was 4, would it just be 8 damage? Or would you roll Damage Dice and add 8 for the damage caused? 8 damage on higher Battle Levels would be nothing.
21/Jul/2003, 9:54 pm Link to this post Send Email to Andrew MSN
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Fist of Gork rules?


I would think that all of the attacks hit automatically, as the warrior 'suffers' them. As to the damage, I would use the Shamans Damage Dice, +Strength, +4.
Because this is a magical attack it presumerably couldn't be dodged, but could be ignored or resisted, I think.
21/Jul/2003, 11:44 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
posticon Re: Fist of Gork rules?


That one is unclear; but I agree with custodian except for one thing: The formula (for a Str 4 Shaman) would be 1d6 Str 8 hits, which means 1d6+8 one to six times over, Damage Dice doesn't enter into the equation (unless you want it to).
     If you wanted to alter the rules for the Fist of Gork to damage a Warrior with Toughness of 10, then you might want to apply all that damage at once...If you subtract the Warrior's Toughness and Armor each time, you'll find that the spell may do nothing at all! On the other hand, if the Shaman rolled max damage, he would still deal 24 actual Wounds to the little tank. And don't forget that this spell can be cast a number of times! See the math below:

Fist of Gork: Literal translation [9 to 84 Wounds - (1d6 x warrior's Toughness)]

     I'll probably just use the literal translation unless the Warriors are having too easy of a time with it then I'll add in Damage Dice like custodian suggests...

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
22/Jul/2003, 5:17 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
sudas Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 05-2003
Posts: 41
Reply | Quote
Re: Fist of Gork rules


Always take out the enemy spellcaster on the first turn, so he can't cast any spells! emoticon
24/Jul/2003, 11:09 am Link to this post Send Email to sudas   Send PM to sudas
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Fist of Gork rules?


I read that it is 1D6 hits actually suffered but the damage is shaman's strength + 4 for each of the 1D6 hits (depending on the particular shaman's Strength characteristic).

This could be as many as 6 hits taken. If the shaman's strength is 4 then it would be that each hit causes 8 total damage modified for toughness and armour.

And, unless the spell actually states that the damage ignores armour and/or toughness, I assume the modifiers apply. I believe this is how the RPB consistently handles the modifiers.

My reasoning for not adding a 1D6 as the others say above is that generally the orc spells are more powerful and dangerous the higher the number rolled. And, "Fist of Gork" is one lower than "Da Krunch". If a damage dice were added to the strength + 4, this would be much more powerful on average than the one hit of 1D6+10 of "Da Krunch" (which also seems to assume the warrior gets to deduct Armour and Toughness). Also, the 1D6 added to the damage is not stated as it is in many other spells (wizard and monster spells alike).

Last edited by OldWarrior, 12/Apr/2006, 7:38 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
11/Apr/2006, 12:49 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)