Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
nemesis7474 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 07-2004
Posts: 9
Reply | Quote
questions about warhammer quest boardgame


hi!

i've got several questions about warhammer quest boardgame :

1) is it possible for a warrior to drink healing potions when he is at 0 life ?

2) when playing with a wardancer, can i sell lucky charms that i bought at the wood elves troop to other warriors ?

3) in general, do you allow exchange or selling between players ?

4) we're uring a system to separate toughness points from armour points : equipments like helmet, enchanted shield or armour of dargan count as armour points, and items like rings or brooches count as toughness points (and so cannot exceed 10 points) and the addition of toughness and armour is the protection points. So it makes diferrences between warriors more seeable, sorcerer has maximum 13 in protection, barbarian has 19, and elf has 15. Do you agree with this ?

5) with wardancer :
      - the bonus of -2 to hit the wardancer gained with aspects is it valid when monsters do ranged attacks again him ?
      - same question concerning battle markings gained at wild hunt
      - can the wardancer use the crown of sorcellery (it permits him to use brooch of power) ?

6) when can the warriors change weapons they use ? My group of players decided you can change weapons at the beginning of each warriors turn but you are obliged to fight during monsters turn with the same weapon used during warriors turn. Do you agree ?

7) is it valid to boost damages dices from a warrior using ring of power ?

I thank you VERY MUCH to give me your opinion to all these points of rules.

Everybody's opinion is welcome.

31/Jul/2004, 5:38 am Link to this post Send Email to nemesis7474   Send PM to nemesis7474
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: questions about warhammer quest boardgame


Hi
1) I don't think the warrior on 0 wounds can, as he is unconscious. Another warrior must try to revive him, and he can then drink his way back to health. Reviving people is covered in the Advanced Rules of the Roleplay book.
2) No, I wouldn't say so. These are probably of the order of blessed items from Loren, so might not work with other warriors. The fact that the Wardancer can BUY luck as opposed to just hoping for the Pedler means that the power shouldn't be abused. Possibly he could sell/give to another warrior who could buy them (don't have rulebook before me at the mo)
3) Tricky. You can't really stop them, but blatent profeteering behaviour (making other warriors bid for an item, for example emoticon ) is not to be encouraged. Unless it's in the character's roleplay mandate.
4) I wouldn't expect a warrior to get anywhere close to the 10 ceiling in natural toughness, but that does sound about right.
5)I suppose it depends on the fluff surrounding the aspect in question. If it 'distracts' monsters (like blazing light or distortion) then yes, if it parries or evades then no.
Battlemarkings, yes, as it's a fear thing. Assuming that you take fear into account for BS anyway.
No, he will never spellcast. And I doubt the crown allows you to use Wizard only items. Or does it?
6) I'd say they can pick a weapon at the beginning of the turn and have to stick with it. They must declare if they are using anything other than their 'normal' weapon. Your rule sounds right.
7) NO! But as has been said elsewhere, in a world where the Pit fighter can gain a dice per level, anything's possible. But DD isn't one of the characteristics.

Hope this helps. Anyone else care to disagree (brandishes Runefang menacingly)
31/Jul/2004, 7:46 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: questions about warhammer quest boardgame


note: some of this is just the way I play...

1) The correct answer is Yes, per the rules (he cannot bandage himself, however)

2) No. I explain to new players before we start that in general items, treasure and gold are kept separate. Due to the nature of gold = exp, WHQ is a game and not an exercise in roleplay realism.

3) My general rule is no. I make exceptions all the time and encourage trades of somewhat equal value and common sense (Magic Sword for Wizard Staff between Barbarian and Wizard, etc.) The Merchant class developed by the Brockhouses has rules for selling, which of course is allowed. When normal characters sell and trade amongst themselves, I encourage face value trades - (no buying the Hammer of Sigmar for 10 gold pieces - that's like twinking a character) My way of playing is supported by the fact that characters like the Trollslayer and Ogre are meant to ingest the gold value of treasure items they can't use, while the treasure does NOT go to the rest of the party.

4) Yes, though I've never actually SEEN a Warrior with more than 10 Toughness in general...

5) I agree with the custodian. The Crown does not allow any warrior to use Wizard items, it just grants arcane knowledge. Also, while Elves can use the Crown, the Wardancer WILL not use any treasure involved with spellcasting.

6) yes, and even when I don't enforce this heavily, I make players make clear which weapon they're using

7) Damage Dice is a stat, but it is QUITE fair to restrict it, since it is the stat most easily cheesed (I don't allow Pit Fighters to advance their DD any higher than normal either). Allowing DD to be increased makes Strength worthless and should be an Objective Room treasure worth way more than 500 gold...


hope this helps


---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
31/Jul/2004, 9:55 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
posticon Re: questions about warhammer quest boardgame


btw, when I went to look at the Wardancer rules, I was horrified to find out that my friend must have borrowed them two years ago last time he was playing one. Now I have no idea where my booklet is :bad:

ARGH

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
31/Jul/2004, 9:58 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
nemesis7474 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 07-2004
Posts: 9
Reply | Quote
error of translation ?


in my french advanced rules book it is said :

Crown of sorcery (treasure from objective room number 23)(can be used by barbarian, elf and dwarf)

crown of sorcellery allows to cast spell and to use items reserved to sorcerer.

Thank you for giving your opinion.

All people are welcome to discuss the points of rules of my post.

Thanx
31/Jul/2004, 1:54 pm Link to this post Send Email to nemesis7474   Send PM to nemesis7474
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: questions about warhammer quest boardgame


BassJam- that's what boiling oil was invented for.
Nemesis7474- I stand corrected! Actually, in my games I have never come across one of them. Then again, i've never got the Hammer of Sigmar either. Blast you, dice!
 emoticon
31/Jul/2004, 6:27 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: questions about warhammer quest boardgame


Guess what, then... The French rules are different than the English rules. But the Wardancer still doesn't LIKE magic-using items, so MUAHahahahaha!

Of course, you REALLY seem to want to use this magic item, so there's two ways to do it. 1) Hold on the crown because your Wardancer is intrigued by it. In the advanced rules, every Warrior gains specialist actions on a 4,5,or 6 when the train to the next Battle-level. You could instead say that our Wardancer is now curious about magic and is now allowed to use spellcasting items as long as Elves in general can use them...

or 2) Flout the rules entirely and use Roleplaying as an excuse! emoticon

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
1/Aug/2004, 2:13 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)