Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
pitfighter Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 06-2004
Posts: 3
Reply | Quote
posticon Rules Questions


I am revisiting my Warhammer Quest collection after several years of letting it sit in the closet. Anyway, I am pleased to find this site. Before my question I just want to say a quick thanks to those in charge!

My wife and I were playing a game last night, and we were running the hazards and settlement events tables when we came upon some questions. There were two times that we were told that we lost a weapon, but the character in question didn't have a weapon other than the one they start with. Does that mean that they lose their only weapon? Besides, one of the characters was my pitfighter, and if he lost his pit-flail or pit-spike I couldn't find any instructions for how to buy another!

Also, as we were finishing the quest in which you are supposed to pour a keg of beer into a the fountain, once we had cleaned out the objective room we were wondering if we had to move the figure carrying the keg to the fountain one square at time--thus making us roll several more power phases. We didn't feel like it, so we didn't, but I felt like maybe we should have to play 'fair'. Does anyone have any thoughts on this question?

Thanks for any ideas you can provide.

Arrm Pitt, the Pitfighter
18/Jun/2004, 1:06 am Link to this post Send Email to pitfighter   Send PM to pitfighter
 
**legacy user**
Champion
Local user

Registered: 08-2003
Posts: 32
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


As far as the mission question. Unless there is a specific printing with instruction on how you are to do it (I.e. Warrior must be next to the fountain to complete the mission) then it’s up to what you feel like. Arguably once the Objective Room is cleared out you can claim that the Dungeon must be cleared. Otherwise there would be the question of ‘journeying’ back to the entrance. Which no doubt can generate one or more rolls of “1”.
18/Jun/2004, 2:24 pm Link to this post Send Email to Rigmarole  
 
pitfighter Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 06-2004
Posts: 3
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


Thanks for the input. Another question:

We have a wizard which has luckily drawn the Resurrection spell card. The cards states that the spell may be cast many turns after a character has died. Does this mean that at the end of the quest, if several characters have died, the wizard can just sit there rolling 6's until the entire party is resurrected? While the wizard is doing this, should he count 1's as unexpected events?

Or, am I bending the rules too much by letting him cast resurrection after the quest is complete?

19/Jun/2004, 12:42 am Link to this post Send Email to pitfighter   Send PM to pitfighter
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


Losing Weapons- yes, you can be left with no weapon, making it useful to carry a knive or six as a precaution. Good point about the pit Fighter's weapons. I would say he could buy some more from the Fighting School (they being rather specialist). A few hundred gold each?

Resurrection- potentially, you could indeed sit there and roll. And roll. I believe several players exclude the spell, though, or at least place further restictions, like a loss of battle-level, or only casting once per turn. I think it's best to exclude it, and just get new warriors to replace the old ones in the next Settlement. But then I am a typically callous GM.
There are also rules from the Phantom of the Opera (I think) on having characters come back to life, charged with a holy mission by whatever deity they follow.
And yes, if you go for the rolling resurrection, you should generate events on a roll of a 1.
Just my hapth'worth
19/Jun/2004, 2:17 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
AncientNomad Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 04-2004
Location: In the graveyard
Posts: 102
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


About the rules I agree with the others, just had to say that playing two people with a Wizard and a Pit Fighter can be awsome! Me and my friend is doing that and we are at battle level 5 by now. I must say that my wizard is kind of suicidal, since he once cast the fireball spell on him self and three giant spiders, and another time he threw a firestorm (which makes 6 unmodified D6 in damage) on himself and a couple of minotaurs. And of course I am calculating damage on him and not just on the monsters. Wow, I could go on and on about Nostromo (Wizard) and Scht! (Pit Fighter) and their adventures. But since I don't know if you want to hear and since this is the wrong thread for that I will leave it be.

Also, nice to hear that you're playing with your wife. I would defenitly like to play WHQ with a girlfriend, just has to capture one first.
20/Jun/2004, 8:18 am Link to this post Send Email to AncientNomad   Send PM to AncientNomad
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


quote:


I would defenitly like to play WHQ with a girlfriend, just has to capture one first.



Try to develop Vampiric Transfix! Then you can- oh wait, I've lost touch with reality again.
20/Jun/2004, 6:12 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
pitfighter Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 06-2004
Posts: 3
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


Thanks for the thoughts on the game & rules. I like my Wizard (Zoko) & Pit Fighter (Arrm Pitt) combo, although they're still Battle Level 1. Yes, the Pit Fighter is Brad Pitt's long lost brother. ;-)

I have to admit that sometimes when we play we will ignore a '1' on a power roll if we already have a tough encounter on the board to deal with. I'm pretty sure that's cheating.... does anyone else do that?

By the way, when we met, my wife was a bigger gamer than I was. There's plenty of gamer girls out there.
20/Jun/2004, 11:21 pm Link to this post Send Email to pitfighter   Send PM to pitfighter
 
AncientNomad Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 04-2004
Location: In the graveyard
Posts: 102
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


I think that it can be ok to ignore a 1 once in a while, depending on your health and so on.
Me and my Pit Fighting friend, we like to get as many 1's as possible, more action!
20/Jun/2004, 11:45 pm Link to this post Send Email to AncientNomad   Send PM to AncientNomad
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


Another idea about Resurrection- only allow it in the room where the warrior died... as his body is still there.
21/Jun/2004, 11:57 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: Rules Questions


I never ignore '1's but in combat the last thing I do is follow the rules to the letter. I fyou did, you'd be fighting for your life and then all of a sudden have an urge to loot some body in the corner and trigger some traps...

So instead, I do this: If it's a Monster card, more Monster comes. Maybe it's time to flee. If it's an Event, I use my own table: perhaps YOU get reinforcements, perhaps they do, perhaps the tide of the combat shifts during the fog of war and one side or the other is +1 to hit next turn. Perhaps a random combatant is knocked prone, grappled, or disarmed. I highly recommend making a table like this (I roll a d20) as the atmosphere is heightened, rather than lessened as Dying Prospector #332 enters the room riddled with arrows.

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
30/Jun/2004, 9:15 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)