Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2 

 
Antarian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 01-2005
Posts: 7
Reply | Quote
Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn? If yes-are there any handicaps for him having cast the spell when going into hand-to-hand? Like -1 to hit? Or if he has already attacked... say... with the sword - all his spells cost +1 power? Or smth like it?
10/Jan/2005, 9:21 am Link to this post Send Email to Antarian   Send PM to Antarian
 
**legacy user**
Administrator
Local user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Waterfront Tavern
Posts: 187
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Hi Antarian, welcome to the WQ message boards.

Yes, a Wizard can cast spells and attack during the same turn. There are no penalties for doing both. The only restrictions are that spells marked as 'Attack Spells' must be cast during the Warriors' Phase. All other spells can be cast at any time except between a To Hit roll and damage roll.
10/Jan/2005, 9:44 am Link to this post Send Email to Andrew MSN
 
Antarian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 01-2005
Posts: 7
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Hi, glad that there are people still playing the game. My last game was yesterday. And the previous one - about 10 years ago.

Oh, fanx.
But doy belive it to be fair? Or the mage is weak and won`t be tuff without the hand-to-hand penalty?
10/Jan/2005, 9:57 am Link to this post Send Email to Antarian   Send PM to Antarian
 
**legacy user**
Administrator
Local user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Waterfront Tavern
Posts: 187
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Personally, I don't think it's fair. The Wizard can use a lot of the treasure items and weapons from the Treasure Cards, and being able to cast spells makes him even more powerful.

I think there should be some sort of penalties for casting spells as well as attacking like you say, perhaps -1 To Hit.
10/Jan/2005, 10:10 am Link to this post Send Email to Andrew MSN
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Then again, the wizard isn't especially good in combat, so there he can't do that much damage!
10/Jan/2005, 8:14 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
**legacy user**
Administrator
Local user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Waterfront Tavern
Posts: 187
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Ah, that's true. When we play we always manage to find some Treasure Card that gives the user +1 To Hit. So the Wizard always ends up with that, unless one of the other Warriors is greedy!
10/Jan/2005, 9:40 pm Link to this post Send Email to Andrew MSN
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


Hey, my last game was yesterday too! We failed, but no one died :b It was our first adventure without a healer of any sort and we were doing quite well before my woman chickened out :b Of course, she WAS down to 2 Wounds after 3 Monster events in a row *grin*

No, Wizards are not balanced or fair. I'm always trying to think of ways to limit them without changing the nature of the game. The most successful thing I've implemented was critical hits, which are only possible if a Warrior or Monster can be hit on a '3' or better. (Reason: Getting critted by a Snotling would suck emoticon ) Since Wizards have a lower WS, the fact that they have to use or lose their luck points and magic items to counteract crits tends to even the score a bit at higher levels and make them less complacent.

My long-term solution is to fully adapt the color colleges and eliminate the generic Wizard from the basic game (who is a cheesemeister wholly apart from the Warhammer standard as seen in Warhammer Fantasy Battle and Roleplay.)

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
1/Feb/2005, 10:19 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
Bruno Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Posts: 802
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


quote:

My long-term solution is to fully adapt the color colleges and eliminate the generic Wizard from the basic game (who is a cheesemeister wholly apart from the Warhammer standard as seen in Warhammer Fantasy Battle and Roleplay.)


With Peter, we plan to made complete rules of Character generation (and spells by magic color) but I am completely devoted to the PBEM online version. I don't have any news.


---
Bruno
1/Feb/2005, 10:06 pm Link to this post Send PM to Bruno
 
golembane Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 08-2004
Posts: 100
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


My wife and I implimented a rule for spell casters that the spell cost was the base cost. Depending on actions it costed more to cast.

If you moved it's +1 power to cast. If you attack its another +1 power.

Other spell casters get -1 modifiers to their roles when casting.

If he gets attacked there is another +1 power needed since he needs more focus to avoid distraction.

Seems to work out fairly well since the wizard either chews through power or doesn't have enough to do his job properly if he charges into combat.

Over all fairly decent in our [sign in to see URL]'t ran into any issues that I can think of offhand.
2/Feb/2005, 12:41 pm Link to this post Send Email to golembane   Send PM to golembane
 
**legacy user**
Administrator
Local user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Waterfront Tavern
Posts: 187
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


I like the idea of having modifiers depending on what else the Wizard has done. When someone is a Wizard in our team, we normally find that he progresses up Battle Levels much quicker than the other Warriors. Due mainly to the fact that he can attack and cast spells.
2/Feb/2005, 12:53 pm Link to this post Send Email to Andrew MSN
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)