Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2 

 
Hieronymus Blitzen Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Colleges of Magic, Altdorf
Posts: 5
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


We don´t allow the Wizard to Attack and use an Attack-Spell. It´s all right for him to attack and , for example, cast healing hands but not to fight *and* cast Pit of despair.
It is not necessarily logical but it´s easy to do and helps a bit to keep the wizard in line with the other warriors.
2/Feb/2005, 11:30 pm Link to this post Send Email to Hieronymus Blitzen   Send PM to Hieronymus Blitzen
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


One of the limitations I thought about was on how many spells a wizard can cast in a turn.
At first level

Only casts- 3 spells
Casts and Moves- 2 spells
Attacks and casts- 1spell
Attacks, moves and casts- 1 spell.

He still requires enough power, etc
3/Feb/2005, 7:28 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
PaulusWHQ Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 01-2005
Posts: 236
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


hi guys - when i last played with my friend, we each controlled 2 characters each emoticon

i was the barbarian and the dwarf (1st and last player) and he was the usual Wizard and Elf (2nd and 3rd player).

I must admit that during the pit, we were all having to chip into every battle, but then afterwards he would get lucky and use FREEZE which would wipe out nearly all goblins etc. (he would get gold, and i would miss out on a few attacks)

Whenever we encountered any Minators he could use as many Freeze spells as he liked emoticon

However, as my barbarian got more skills we agreed on leting the barb charge in, kill some creatures/wound them etc, and then near teh end he would cast freeze. Anyone left would have to then face the wrath of my beardy Dwarf (along with his lovely runes) - unless of course he tripped up (again) - LOL emoticon
3/Feb/2005, 10:09 am Link to this post Send Email to PaulusWHQ   Send PM to PaulusWHQ
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


I never have problems with Wizards leveling faster or stealing kills with Freeze. I use a 'Group Gold' rule. If your character kills a Monster outright he still gets all Gold/exp in my games. However, if more than one party member contributes to Wounding a Monster, that Monster goes in the Group Gold pot, which is divvied evenly amongst ALL Warriors (even ones who did not Wound).

This method works well because exceptional Warriors and higher level ones still are awarded more than others, but the healer/lowbie/support types get a chance to level along with the rest of the party!

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
3/Feb/2005, 10:17 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
PaulusWHQ Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 01-2005
Posts: 236
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


thats quite nice BassJam.
what we used to do was get all the gold per kill, but then help each other out in town to level up - though we always kept tallies of gold "lent" in this way - LOL - so that we could pay back with magic items like bags of gold etc emoticon

actually, it ended up quite even in the end, because if i owed the wizard 200 gold, i would usually get it back from him after i found treasure items that only the wizard could use emoticon
3/Feb/2005, 10:24 am Link to this post Send Email to PaulusWHQ   Send PM to PaulusWHQ
 
Bruno Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Posts: 802
Reply | Quote
Re: Can a wizard cast a spell and attack the same turn?


For my part, wizard can cast attack spell only in his attack phase.


---
Bruno
3/Feb/2005, 11:18 pm Link to this post Send PM to Bruno
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)