Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
psiegel Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 11-2005
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
posticon Battle Level Power Bonus


In the roleplay book under the Wizard's Training section, there's a rule that a wizard gets to add his battle level to the power die to determine the power available to him during the turn. My question is, does this include wizard's of battle level 1?

Here's the actual wording from the book:

quote:

As you already know, at the start of each Power Phase you roll 1D6 to
determine how much Power the Wizard has available for the turn. As your
Wizard gets more experienced he is better able to tap into this natural magical
source. To reflect this, each time your Wizard goes up a Battle-level, add 1
point to this dice roll. A Wizard of Battle-level 4, for instance, gets 1D6+4
Power each turn rather than 1D6.



The wording would seem to imply that the bonus only comes into effect starting with level two, as you get a plus one "each time your Wizard goes up a Battle-level." However, the example then contradicts this by claiming a battle level 4 wizard would get 1d6+4 power. Running the numbers backwards, wouldn't it then stand to reason a level 1 wizard would get 1d6+1 power? If not, would a level 2 wizard get 1d6+1 or 1d6+2 power?

Anyone have any thoughts on which way to rule this?

-Paul
17/Nov/2005, 2:00 pm Link to this post Send Email to psiegel   Send PM to psiegel
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Battle Level Power Bonus


Indeed, this is one of the major contradictions. Basically, if you are playing the 'basic game' where you don't carry characters over, or do settlement visits or have storylines or level up characters, the wizard just gets the Power Dice. Otherwise he gets Power +BL.
Some people have done it so that the first adventure each Wizard plays is just Power Dice, and all the rest are PD+BL.

Just my opinion though. I don't think that there was ever a real ruling.
17/Nov/2005, 3:15 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
psiegel Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 11-2005
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
Re: Battle Level Power Bonus


That's a shame that there's no official ruling. I think I would be tempted to say that the example is simply a typo, and should read:

"A Wizard of Battle-level 4, for instance, gets 1D6+3 Power each turn rather than 1D6."

That jibes with the text better I think, and still allows for a 1st level wizard to have no bonus. So you'd just calculate your power bonus as Battle-level minus 1.
18/Nov/2005, 1:16 am Link to this post Send Email to psiegel   Send PM to psiegel
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Battle Level Power Bonus


I am in the middle of overthrowing it all in an highly presumptuous manner anyway, so hopefully when my rules come out and recieve their universal applause all this will be sorted out emoticon
18/Nov/2005, 1:38 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
Matja Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 10-2004
Posts: 51
Reply | Quote
Re: Battle Level Power Bonus


@Psiegel:
yep, its like you said, its only a typo, the author was some way of confused that day so he took the 4 of the battle level to the example concerning the roll. Otherwise the whole sentence wouldnt make sense.
20/Nov/2005, 2:12 am Link to this post Send Email to Matja   Send PM to Matja
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Battle Level Power Bonus


Yes... now I consider it that does make some sense. That will do as an explaination, for now.
26/Nov/2005, 4:23 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)