Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Wardancer Rules Query


Quick Question- if the Wardancer wants to kill a monster and then move onto its space, does he need to roll for pinning if he is still in base contact with another monster? I know that 'carrying a deathblow' is ideally used once there are no more within reach but I can't see why the WD shouldn't kill and move and kill again as he hacks through a mob.

Let me know what you think. I am inclined to allow it without a pinning check as part of the Wardancer's ability.
28/Jul/2006, 8:28 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer Rules Query


My comments here are based upon what I believe the intent of the Wardancer's skill(s) were upon his creation -- based upon my best understanding (may be limited) of his rules. I really don't personally care one way or the other, especially if I am playing the Wardancer in one of your GMed games. emoticon

I respectfully disagree with the idea of dispensing with the escape pinning requirement. 3+ for BL 1 escape pinning is quite good. He has a 66.66% chance to escape pinning every time he tries.

I see nothing in his rules that implies this allowance (the dispensing of the roll to escape pinning); but, on the contrary, it seems to me that the Dance of Death applies to the condition that the Wardancer has actually run out of potential death-blow targets currently adjacent to him -- which of course, frees him to move.

But, I would likely allow the Wardancer to do as you already allow: the breaking of pinning from adjacent potential targets and then carrying on the death-blow after moving.

Note: I don't think, as some do, that the original rules ever intended to force warriors to break pinning even after all the monsters about them are killed. I think rather that the wording about breaking pinning, based upon the words that say monsters are adjacent "at the start of the Warriors' Phase". I think probably they would have worded it as "at the start of the Warrior's turn", if they had given it more thought.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 28/Jul/2006, 10:31 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
28/Jul/2006, 3:37 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer Rules Query


I just edited that last reply to read "Warrior's turn". It was late last night when I wrote that repeating "Warrior Phase". emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
28/Jul/2006, 10:30 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
WitchHunterRegault Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 06-2006
Posts: 32
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer Rules Query


I'm going to weigh in on this one and say that the rulebook for the Wardancer seems pretty clear about this one:

"If, having despatched his foe with a single blow, he is not in position to make a death-blow, then the Wardancer's Dance of Death skill takes effect. He may now use any movement he has left to bring him into contact with Monsters, and continue his deathblow, and so on."

It seems to me that the Dance should not be used until there are no monsters in base contact (i.e. WD is not pinned). The Dance of Death skill is so powerful as it is, I think it's fair to make it a requirement that the WD dispatch all surrounding enemies first.

cheers,

Regault
29/Jul/2006, 12:33 pm Link to this post Send Email to WitchHunterRegault   Send PM to WitchHunterRegault
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)