Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
NYJETS147 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 05-2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 89
Reply | Quote
posticon Wardancer Question: Belt of Ariel


Belt of Ariel
This magical belt was given to the Wardancer by Ariel, queen of the Wood Elves.
The belt has the power to absorb damage and even deflect hits taken by the Wardancer. Roll a dice for the Wardancer at the start of each turn:

1 The belt has no effect this turn.
2-3 The belt adds +1 to the Wardancer's Toughness for the turn.
4-5 The belt adds +2 to the Wardancer's Toughness for the turn.
6 The belt protects the Wardancer from any single attack this turn. He may choose to ignore any single blow which hits him.


During last Saturday's game, at the last level of the Catacombs of Terror expansion, the guy that plays the Wardancer started to complain about the way we played the Belt so far:
When throwing a six the Wardancer had his normal toughness but could negate one blow in that turn.

The player argued that having his toughness increased by 2 was better than being able to negate a single blow so the result under six should be read as being able to negate every blow, making the Wardancer invulnerable for that turn.

We settled on the compromise of when rolling a six, the Wardancer can raise his toughness by 2 AND negate/ignore one single blow in that turn.

Please understand that I agreed with this rule because at that time the party of 6 (level 6 Fire Wizard, Kislevite Shaman, Chaos Warrior and Ogre and level 4 Trollslayer and Wardancer) were fighting 3 Mummy Tomb Kings and a Bone Giant(!) which was almost impossible for them to hurt.

The Bone Giant (64 wounds ignore pain 10 and toughness 11) got killed by a Shaman's Tomb Call after the Ogre took off 47 wounds with one kick. His strength got pumped up to 12 by single items and spells and then he took a Dibbley potion that doubled his strength to 24!

Please let me know how you experts understand to be the Belt of Ariel rules.

Thanks in advance.


---
Don't believe everything you hear....not even in your own mind!
7/Feb/2006, 9:00 pm Link to this post Send Email to NYJETS147   Send PM to NYJETS147
 
grogling Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Darkest Cornwall
Posts: 298
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer Question: Belt of Ariel


I interpreted the rule just as you did. A 6 negates one blow. When fighting lots of small creatures, this may not be so good but when fighting a giant or something else that delivers a few severe blows, it is a great ability.

If a house rule of +2 aswell makes the guy feel better and you are happy with it, that's fine, but I don't feel that is how the belt works. And it definately doesn't negate every blow (although I could do with one of those for life in general!).
7/Feb/2006, 9:34 pm Link to this post Send Email to grogling   Send PM to grogling
 
Sudden Real Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 12-2003
Posts: 104
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer Question: Belt of Ariel


The Belt of Ariel has it's pro's and con's... In certain circumstances it's better to have +2 toughness than ignoring a single blow (in most cases you still take more damage than with the +2).

But when you start reaching the heavy hitters, +2 isn't that big of deal anymore, and with his high weaponskill, the Wardancer is less likely to be hit that often. So against bigger monsters, ignoring a blow is suddenly more interesting than +2 toughness.

Although +2 toughness and ignoring a blow also works...
8/Feb/2006, 12:18 am Link to this post Send Email to Sudden Real   Send PM to Sudden Real
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)