Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
niessenr Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 03-2006
Posts: 11
Reply | Quote
question about pinning


Hey guys,

maybe a silly question, but Im kinda wondering about the rules for pinning.
If a monster or player is not pinned at the beginning of their respective turns the may move and ataack ofcourse. However, is it allowed to pass by a monster/player which is currently engaged or not engaged in combat, in order to attack a different one?
I might think that this monster/player will not let you pass, effectively pinning you.
How to resolve this isnt really stated in the rules.

What is strange is that you ARE pinned if at the start of your turn a monster is next to you, eventhough it is not attacking you but someone else (according to the rule book).

Can someone clarify this?

R
12/Mar/2006, 10:09 pm Link to this post Send Email to niessenr   Send PM to niessenr
 
Sudden Real Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 12-2003
Posts: 104
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


Good question. I usually only look for pinning before and after movement, so when a player or monster isn't pinned, it can move freely, barging others aside (so to speak) to get to his goal.

As for being pinned by something that's not attacking you, are you gonna turn your back on that raging minotaur that's bashing away on your buddy?
12/Mar/2006, 11:18 pm Link to this post Send Email to Sudden Real   Send PM to Sudden Real
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


Pinning is a bit abstract... but yeah, basically as I understand the rules you only test for pinning if you're pinned right before you move. Possibly if you were pinned at the start of the Warrior Phase (but are not now) but I don't bother with that because
1) it's too hard to keep track of
2) It allows for tactical play (i.e. killing the snotling pinning the Trollslayer so he can attack the Minotaur)
12/Mar/2006, 11:44 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
NYJETS147 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 05-2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 89
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


We always use the focus-rule.
The first model that moves into a deathzone gets the focus, so other adjacent squares will not cause a model to be pinned.

What I don't get is why monsters don't have an escape from pinning stat.


Last edited by NYJETS147, 14/Mar/2006, 8:00 pm


---
Don't believe everything you hear....not even in your own mind!
14/Mar/2006, 7:57 pm Link to this post Send Email to NYJETS147   Send PM to NYJETS147
 
Bruno Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Posts: 802
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


quote:

If there is a Monster in a square adjacent to your Warrior at the start of
the Warriors' Phase then your Warrior is 'pinned' by the Monster, and may not move. This represents your Warrior standing his ground as he valiantly defends himself against the attacks of his opponent. Though a pinned Warrior may not leave the square he is in, he may turn to face any direction.


Personnaly I always play the real rules. that gave a particular favor when you're playing an Elf.

What a pity a monster has not a pinning roll but it'll help Warriors sometime.


---
Bruno
15/Mar/2006, 5:56 am Link to this post Send PM to Bruno
 
concretedonkey Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 12-2005
Posts: 32
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


what about models that fight in ranks if they are 2 squares(or hower many)squares away from you do you need to take a pinning test to attack them? i guess it would make sense and it would give those goblin spearmen a better chance.

---
some techno is as much techno as drano is digestible. aka its not all bad
15/Mar/2006, 7:43 am Link to this post Send Email to concretedonkey   Send PM to concretedonkey AIM
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


I have thought idly about implementing the D&D movement rules (5-foot steps, attacks of opportunity, etc.) but I like the WHQ rules just fine as well.

What I do though is make Warriors and Monsters test to run BETWEEN two enemies to get to the other side (on a diagonal for instance). In this case there would have to be a Barge through test even though a success would not move the models necessarily.)

Here's a problem I have with the Pinning rules though. Wizards and other physical pansies have a 4+ Pinning stat because they may want to escape, right? Barbarians and other Tanks tend to have a 6+ Pinning stat because they tend to get stuck in, right? but why is the pinning roll based on ESCAPING? What if a Barbarian or Troll Slayer is prevented from getting past a puny Snotling when they just want to move forward 2 squares so they can bravely engage 5 Orcs at once? Of course as GM I can let players do a Barge Aside test, but the rules still suck on this point. The Elves are all good though emoticon

---
"Mine is a high art. I wound with cruelty those who would harm me." - Archillicus
28/Mar/2006, 5:30 pm Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: question about pinning


I reckon it's an Initiative Test, possibly modified by the individual rules of the Warrior.

Worth thinking about... Perhaps make it a strength test if your ambition is to get stuck in further!
2/Apr/2006, 4:00 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)