Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2  3 

 
Bruno Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Posts: 802
Reply | Quote
Deathblow


I am coding a new interface for Webquest and I am currently working on Deathblow

Let's draw a bit
xxx
AWx
xBx

x is an empty case
W is my Warrior
A and B are monsters

I've killed monsters B can I use the deathblow to kill A. in the rule they speak of adjacent so I am sure I can't.
How do you played it?
What is your opinion?

Thanks for your help.


---
Bruno
31/Mar/2006, 4:41 am Link to this post Send PM to Bruno
 
psiegel Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 11-2005
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


I've always played that as not adjacent, meaning no death blow allowed. In my opinion, it's the same as the following example:

xxx
AWx
WBx

In this case, clearly the second warrior is in the way of the death blow causing it to fail.

Paul


Last edited by psiegel, 31/Mar/2006, 6:06 am
31/Mar/2006, 6:05 am Link to this post Send Email to psiegel   Send PM to psiegel
 
Sudden Real Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 12-2003
Posts: 104
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


Hmm, I always thought that meant adjacent to the warrior. I think it even says somewhere that a deathblow stops when you can't kill a monster or when you encounter an obstacle such as a wall or another warrior, so passing an empty square should be okay.

On another (yet similar) subject, when exactly do you get a deathblow? When you kill a monster that's killed in one blow (going from full wounds to zero or below), or just kill a monster (not on starting wounds)?
31/Mar/2006, 1:43 pm Link to this post Send Email to Sudden Real   Send PM to Sudden Real
 
Bruno Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Posts: 802
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


quote:

On another (yet similar) subject, when exactly do you get a deathblow? When you kill a monster that's killed in one blow (going from full wounds to zero or below), or just kill a monster (not on starting wounds)?


In advanced rules, let's say just kill a monster.


---
Bruno
31/Mar/2006, 3:32 pm Link to this post Send PM to Bruno
 
grogling Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Darkest Cornwall
Posts: 298
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


I will go with Sudden Real, I always thought it was adjacent to the warrior and only an obstacle or another warrior would stop a death blow.
31/Mar/2006, 9:03 pm Link to this post Send Email to grogling   Send PM to grogling
 
mystified michael Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 03-2005
Location: north by north west
Posts: 80
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


In Bruno's example I allow a deathblow since the monsters are diagonally ajacent to eachother and also adjacent to the warrior.
In the examples below I would NOT allow a deathblow, since it 'feels' to me as if the warrior has to turn to see the second opponent.
But I do make an exception for the Wardancer. (I'm terribly biassed towards this warrior emoticon)

X X X
X W A
B X X

X X A
X W X
B X X

Last edited by mystified michael, 24/May/2006, 11:29 pm


---
I wonder...
31/Mar/2006, 9:59 pm Link to this post Send Email to mystified michael   Send PM to mystified michael
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


I think in the official rules, No, you can't. Apparently empty space blocks deathblows. But personally I think this is nonsense and I would allow it.
2/Apr/2006, 3:54 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow - hurray for he Death-blow!


I have thought a lot about this lately. Now, I agree with Custodian. Certainly, if you can slice through a whole monster to attack the next one after it, one could much more easily slice through mere air. emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
2/Apr/2006, 1:49 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


Another specific death-blow question:

MX
XW
M<

In this setting, X is empty space, M is a monster, < is a corner of a wall. Assume the Death-blow is going counter-clockwise.

If the death-blow is normally allowed diagonally and/or through an empty space, should it be allowed on a monster diagonally across a corner wall section from the warrior?

Last edited by OldWarrior, 6/Apr/2006, 9:08 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
2/Apr/2006, 1:55 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Deathblow


It seems that this also relates to whether an attack would normally be allowed. I believe by the WHQ rules this would not be allowed as a normal attack, nor should it be allowed for a death-blow, but what do my fellow WHQers say?

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
2/Apr/2006, 1:57 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2  3 





You are not logged in (login)