Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Brace of Pistols


Hullo

A player of mine has asked if he can fire both pistols at once. I'm inclined to say yes, but... oh wait. Just realised the answer to my own question. Presumably takes 1 attack to use each.

But how do people interpret the instruction:
"each pistol may make 1 shot every other turn (takes one turn to reload)"

Does that mean that it takes one turn to reload one pistol, but you can fire the other one in the same turn while it's loaded? As I recall, the Witch Hunter takes a whole turn to load one pistol.
13/Apr/2006, 10:35 pm Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
NYJETS147 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 05-2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 89
Reply | Quote
Re: Brace of Pistols


This is what I would do/have done while GM-ing the Imperial Noble:

I would let him use both in the same turn when he has two attacks. When he has only one attack and really would like to use both pistols, I would give him the chance but with a penalty depending how difficult it would be to hit the target without really aiming well.

And it would take one turn each for the pistols to reload in which turn nothing else can be done. When a monster engages in hand to hand combat during this turn, he can stop reloading and take up another weapon. Because of the mess this causes, he will still need a full turn to complete the reload.
That's how we did it.
But ofcourse that's not an official rule.

Last edited by NYJETS147, 13/Apr/2006, 11:29 pm


---
Don't believe everything you hear....not even in your own mind!
13/Apr/2006, 11:28 pm Link to this post Send Email to NYJETS147   Send PM to NYJETS147
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Brace of Pistols


I have always understood the brace of pistols to act in tandem with each other. I mean that the warrior using them is holding one in each hand and may therefore fire once with both in the same attack. Since they are alike, I presume that they are both reloaded in one turn in which the warrior does nothing else. He can reload them so quickly because of an assembly-line type of systematic reload.

Then again, I tend to be nicer to the warriors. Perhaps a -1 to hit with the second pistol would be in order, assuming that the warrior is either right or left handed. AND, if the character gets some sort of Ambidextrious ability along the way, he could then drop the -1 to hit penalty. AND, perhaps there could be a chance of failure to reload both of them in one turn -- like 50% chance maybe. If one is not reloaded then the warrior could still fire the loaded one in the next turn OR reload the one he failed to load.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 14/Apr/2006, 1:26 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
14/Apr/2006, 1:07 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
mystified michael Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 03-2005
Location: north by north west
Posts: 80
Reply | Quote
Re: Brace of Pistols


The way I play it is that a player can fire one shot the first turn and one shot in the second turn. The third turn he'd be reloading one pistol so he can fire one shot in the 4th turn. Reloading in the 5th turn, firing in turn six etc. etc.
I only allow reloading when there is no base-to-base contact with monsters.

---
I wonder...
14/Apr/2006, 2:31 am Link to this post Send Email to mystified michael   Send PM to mystified michael
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Brace of Pistols


I just thought of something else in this regard. If one compares the brace of pistols side-by-side with the pistol crossbow, it seems to me that it was originally intended that the two pistols could be fired in one turn, since they cost more that the pistol cross bow and the pistol crossbow fires three shots every other turn (with one turn to reload). Part of my reasoning for this is that the brace of pistols costs twice as much as the pistol crossbow.

Bringing the Imperial Noble into the discussion, it is interesting that his Repeater Pistol is capable of multiple shots in the same turn (if they all hit) AND it costs the same as the brace of pistols. Of course, it also takes D3 turns to reload.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 14/Apr/2006, 5:37 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
14/Apr/2006, 4:33 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)