Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
seanyseanybean Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 01-2006
Posts: 19
Reply | Quote
quick question...


Can a monster (or warrior) with 2 or more attacks, choose to spread their attacks between targets, or must they use all their attacks on 1 target?
7/Feb/2006, 12:32 am Link to this post Send Email to seanyseanybean   Send PM to seanyseanybean
 
thecustodian Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: The Temple
Posts: 809
Reply | Quote
Re: quick question...


Well... I think officially if you're playing under the official Monster Rules (made for playing without a GM where one of the players would roll monster dice etc) then you can't split attacks. The rules govern things like monster placement and basic behaviour like the actions of missile troops.

As the GM you can do whatever you want, though the book suggests sticking to the original 'rules' unless you have a specific purpose. In my current adventure 'Unnatural Nature' the Warriors are battling the uber-monster Great Rat Ogre who keeps switching his targets, to represent the confusion it feels as a result of bad mind control. Or something. emoticon
7/Feb/2006, 10:32 am Link to this post Send Email to thecustodian   Send PM to thecustodian
 
grogling Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 04-2003
Location: Darkest Cornwall
Posts: 298
Reply | Quote
Re: quick question...


I like to play my monsters in a variety of ways. Rules are fine for a non GM game but if there is a GM, do whatever you want.

Thus, I am in agreement with thecustodian.
7/Feb/2006, 9:18 pm Link to this post Send Email to grogling   Send PM to grogling
 
seanyseanybean Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 01-2006
Posts: 19
Reply | Quote
Re: quick question...


Cool Thanks :-)
8/Feb/2006, 12:26 am Link to this post Send Email to seanyseanybean   Send PM to seanyseanybean
 
Zubbus Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 05-2006
Posts: 8
Reply | Quote
Re: quick question...


[sign in to see URL] the rules can help :P

[sign in to see URL] of the Rule Book:
If a Warrior has more than 1 Attack he may split them between two or more enemies as you wish.
1/May/2006, 3:39 pm Link to this post Send Email to Zubbus   Send PM to Zubbus
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: quick question...


It is true that the WARRIORS get to split their attacks, just like the warriors get to perform death-blows, but monsters are NOT normally as privileged. The rules indicate that monsters cannot attack more than one target in the same turn NOR can they perform death-blows.

This is further clarified by the monster special rule LARGE MONSTER (in the RolePlay Book) which states that one classified as a Large Monster will use any attacks left over (after knocking a warrior unconscious) on further available warrior targets.

These are NOT direct quotes. emoticon

I only add my two cents here to help clarify what the original rules state. I also agree that a GM can pretty much do what he wants; though, it would be nice to let the players know somewhat how you intend to handle such things. Though, I DO also like the idea of keeping them in suspense on many things. emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
2/May/2006, 1:09 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)