Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
stunlock Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 07-2007
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
cave-in event card: a game ender?


Hello,

I'm new to Warhammer Quest, having just bought an old copy off Ebay. I am really enjoying the game so far, but I have a question about the cave-in event card. The way this card is worded, it sounds like unless you have already encountered a t-junction passage (so you can backtrack and take the other way), the adventure is over because you have no further means of progressing into the dungeon. Is this correct? If so, it seems a rather abrupt and arbitrary way to end an adventure. I haven't played too many games so far, but already two of them have ended with me drawing the cave-in card thereby forcing me to retreat back into the room I entered by. But even though I managed to escape being crushed by the cave-in, what can I do now with nowhere to go but back through what I have already explored?

I hope I'm just reading the cave-in card wrong. If someone could set me straight on this, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thank you
19/Jul/2007, 8:54 am Link to this post Send Email to stunlock   Send PM to stunlock
 
Horth Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 01-2006
Posts: 66
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


Welcome to the dungeon, Stunlock!

This text is from an edition of White Dwarf, gathered together as part of a rules Compendium which may be found at [sign in to see URL] . The rules appeared in White Dwarf, so I think we can consider them 'canon', if you care about such things!

Basically, if your party finds itself trapped ina dungeon with no way out, they may either trek back to the entrance and give the dungeon up as impassable, or they may begin rolling on the Hidden Passages table. I use this rule, but do not allow searching until the Warriors really are trapped with no way out.

HIDDEN PASSAGES
Sometimes the dungeon may contain a secret door or
concealed corridor. If the Warriors finish their adventure
(either by completing it, or by being cut off in a dead end)
or you have decided to play a special type of adventure,
they may look for a Hidden Passage. The Warriors cannot
search for a Hidden Passage if the adventure description
says they have to escape immediately.
Searching for Hidden Passages is simple. Searching is the
Warrior's action for that turn and he may do nothing else.
Each Warrior may only search a particular board section
once per adventure, and only the board section he is
standing on at the time. At the end of the Warriors' phase
roll a D6 for each Warrior who is searching and consult the
table below.

HIDDEN PASSAGE TABLE
D6 Roll Result
1 Collapse! The Warrior's searching causes a
part of the dungeon ceiling to fall down. The
dungeon isn't blocked, but each Warrior on the
same board section suffers 1D6 Wounds (with
no deductions) from the falling rocks.
2, 3, 4 Solid Rock! The Warrior cannot find any
secret doors on this board section.
5,6 Found it! Attach a Doorway to the board
section and place the remaining Dungeon deck
behind it to be explored as normal. Unless you
are playing otherwise, each dungeon will only
ever have one Hidden Passage so there is no
point searching again once it has been found.
19/Jul/2007, 7:10 pm Link to this post Send Email to Horth   Send PM to Horth
 
stunlock Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 07-2007
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


Thank you very much for the quick reply, Horth.

The link you provided is a gold mine. I'm finding many new interesting nuggets of information. Apparently there is also a way to dig through a cave-in with a bucket and spade purchased at a settlement. Good stuff.

Thanks again.
20/Jul/2007, 9:29 am Link to this post Send Email to stunlock   Send PM to stunlock
 
Horth Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 01-2006
Posts: 66
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


I've just downloaded a bunch of original treasure cards. There is a Dwarf Pick treasure that allows you to dig through a cave-in! So there really is no excuse not to press onwards!
23/Jul/2007, 6:33 pm Link to this post Send Email to Horth   Send PM to Horth
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


You can also end the quest, pop back to the nearest Village, and get directions to another way into the same Dungeon.

In other words, play again! If you're lucky you'll run across the Peddler on the way... If you're like my party - well, maybe you'll just want to search around the mountains for another side entrance yourself!
7/Aug/2007, 9:44 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
Dafid Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 4
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


When I read that card, it seems to give the players until the end of the following turn to escape...
3/Sep/2013, 8:31 am Link to this post Send Email to Dafid   Send PM to Dafid Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


That is true, but can they not dig their way through in later turn, after they are safe, with the Dwarf Pick, etc.?

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
29/Sep/2013, 4:31 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
rrleonc689 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 04-2007
Posts: 5
Reply | Quote
Re: cave-in event card: a game ender?


Read page 39 of the roleplay book under "Blocked routes" it reads that the last card of the deck always leads to the outside. From theree you could decide to start all over again from scratch or go back to the dungeon that is already laid out and make the correct turn at the t-junction.
4/Sep/2014, 1:33 pm Link to this post Send Email to rrleonc689   Send PM to rrleonc689
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)