Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)


Page:  1  2  3 

 
aberrant Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2007
Posts: 6
Reply | Quote
How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


A single gauntlet gives a single additional attack at -1 to hit but at +1 to Strength. Now -- and this is the part that gets me a little muddled -- if a character wears two gauntlets, he gains three attacks, but are all the attacks at +1 to hit and 4D6 damage? Or just the third bonus attack for having two gauntlets? So your attacks would be:
your normal attack(s)followed by your three gauntlet attacks at:
-1 to hit, +1 strength
-1 to hit, +1 strength
+1 to hit, 4D6 damage
or would all the attacks be:
your normal attack(s)followed by our three gauntlet attacks at:
+1 to hit, 4D6 damage
+1 to hit, 4D6 damage
+1 to hit, 4D6 damage

The -1 to hit, +1 strength attack(s) and/or the +1 to hit, 4D6 damage attack(s) only applies to the three attacks from the gauntlets. Can the gauntlets can be used with weapons? And if they can, I assume the weapons special prosperities -- if any -- don't effect the three attacks granted by the gauntlets.
 
So, for example, if a battle-level three dwarf warrior had two Gauntlets of Damzhar, he would have two normal attacks with his axe and three special attacks with his gauntlets. The damage and that attack bonus from the two gauntlets would not alter his normal attacks with his axe, correct?

Also, do you add your strength to the damage from the gauntlets that do 4D6 damage. And do you add your strength to the -1 to hit , +1 strength attack for having one gauntlet?

Here is the description of the gauntlet(s):
"A Gauntlet of Damzhar gives the wearer +1 Attack at -1 to hit and at +1 to Strength.

If your Warrior wears two gauntlets of Damzhar, their combined power gives
an additional +1 Attack (making a total of +3: 1 for each Gauntlet plus +1 for
their combined attack) at +1 to hit and causing 4D6 damage."

Last edited by aberrant, 19/Sep/2007, 4:08 am
18/Sep/2007, 4:42 am Link to this post Send Email to aberrant   Send PM to aberrant
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


MOST LIKELY INTERPRETATION (imho) -- and the one more likely intended I think, but who knows?

What makes me think this is the interpretation/usage intended are the words "+1 for their combined attack", which seem to imply that the attacks are actually done by the gauntlets.

Note: this is probably the reason I played it this way most of the time in my solo games.

The Gauntlets actually are treated separately from the other normal attacks a warrior has, because they are fitted (if i understand correctly) upon the warrior's forearm(s) and he may still hold a weapon in his hand(s).

So, forgetting about the warriors normal attacks, let us just concentrate upon the gauntlets themselves. We are basically treating them as a weapon(s) that magically provide an addition attack (or 3 attacks in the case of having two).

One gauntlet provides 1 Attack at -1 to hit and +1 Strength. The Dwarf above would do the gauntlet attack before OR after his normal attacks. If he hits a monster he rolls his normal Damage Dice (one in this case) and adds his Strength +1 from the gauntlet for damage.

Two gauntlets provide 3 Attacks at +1 to hit and 4 Damage Dice instead of the strength bonus and instead of his normal 1 Damage Dice characterisitic. So, any gauntlet attacks that hit would do 4 Damage Dice + 3 Strength damage.

By this interpretation, one needs not worry about these gauntlets interacting with, or hindering, the normal use of their other weapons.

If other interpretations are desired I give a major one on my message board in answer to this same question. however, I got to thinking that it seemed too good to be true, especially with only a 500 gold sell value on one gauntler. I also deal with the Dwarf's particularly special Great Axe in connection with multiple Damage Dice. See the following topic:

]How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


Last edited by OldWarrior, 19/Sep/2007, 5:40 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
19/Sep/2007, 5:38 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
aberrant Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2007
Posts: 6
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


Thanks so much, Old Warrior, that really helps. I left a lengthier reply at your forums.
19/Sep/2007, 6:21 am Link to this post Send Email to aberrant   Send PM to aberrant
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 410
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


I know this is an old post, but couldn't help responding to it.

If read literally (and i think this is what was intended), it would appear that:

1 Gauntlet is magical in nature and allows the wearer an extra Gauntlet Attack. However, this extra attack is -1 To Hit, but is +1 Strength.

The extra attack is still done with the weapon being wielded for the turn - which means the dwarf may still roll twice dice and discard the lower one (or he may trip on his beard with double 1's) if he uses his Axe. The Brett. Knight still factors in +3 Wounds with his Braodsword. The Trollslayer still factors in +1 Wounds with his Rune Axe. The Pit Fighter might still hit himself with his flail if he rolls a natural 1 To Hit. Etc..

2 Gauntlets give the same as 1 Gauntlet, just 2x. So the wearer gets +2 Gauntlet Attacks, but these 2 attacks made by a Warrior wearing these gauntlets are -1 To Hit, but at +1 Strength. Again, they are still using their chosen weapon to swing and inflict damage as above...

But here is the real bonus. If 2 Gauntlets are worn by the same Warrior, the Combined power of these magical Gauntlets give an ADDITIONAL third Attack in addition to all other normal attacks the Warrior has and the 2 attacks listed above. This 3rd particular Gauntlet attack is +1 To Hit and does 4D6 Damage. Again if the Pit Fighter rolls a 1 To Hit, he will probably drop himself in one blow, etc..

I believe that this was the intended interpretation. It makes the most sense considering the text written and the gold value of item. And rolling a 6 for treasure and a 66 for the item. And to do it twice? - what are the odds? It sure makes it satisfying when it happens.

And, by the way, my current party has the Trollslayer with one Gauntlet. Sure makes each battle exciting knowing the the other Gauntlet may show up at the end of it!

Last edited by Littlemonk, 3/Jul/2008, 6:19 pm


---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
3/Jul/2008, 6:17 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
aberrant Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2007
Posts: 6
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


When I asked this question, my friend and I were duoing the game as a dwarf and a wizard. I had forgot to reduce the number of monsters so we were tackling groups of enemies designed for a party of four. Heh. Anyways, at battle level 3 the dwarf found a second gauntlet.

Also, what keeps the heroes from staying around battle level 2 or 3 and just farming dungeons for gold? That is what we did, so we had hordes of equipment and wealth.

Also, the Freeze spells seems to overshadow the other attack spells.
20/Jun/2013, 11:43 pm Link to this post Send Email to aberrant   Send PM to aberrant
 
aberrant Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2007
Posts: 6
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


Replied to after six years! emoticon
20/Jun/2013, 11:47 pm Link to this post Send Email to aberrant   Send PM to aberrant
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


After all this time, I have come to the conclusion that the Gauntlets of Damzhar are best understood and interpreted -- at least for me -- as totally separate from a Warrior's normal weapon(s) and Attacks. I like to think of them like the Boots of Battle, but located on the arm(s). emoticon

SIX years! Wow! Good to 'see' you returning.

I don't think there is anything to prevent the farming that you mention. I have done a little of that in my past solo games, concentrating on upgrading equipment BEFORE leveling up much.

Freeze is one of the best/most useful Attack spells ever! (IMO)

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
21/Jun/2013, 2:04 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 410
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


Ok, but how about this? The Boot of Battle specifically states:

"While wearing these boots your Warrior gets an extra kick attack at -1 to hit and +1 Strength."

If how you interpret the Gauntlet is the same, why didn't they say the Gauntlet gives your Warrior an extra punch attack or some other descriptive use?

I've never heard of using a gauntlet on offense while holding a weapon in the same hand?

The boot makes sense, since it's not part of the normal hand attacks. As a martial artist, i can appreciate an extra kick attack that can be thrown at the same time as, or in conjunction with, hand weapon attacks. But suddenly giving an extra gauntlet attack (much less 2 or 3!) just doesn't seem right.

(Welcome back, abberant!)

Last edited by Littlemonk, 21/Jun/2013, 3:41 pm


---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
21/Jun/2013, 3:40 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


Littlemonk, I was going for more simplicity. I was not saying that it would necessarily make sense in the real world. emoticon

To appeal to why GW did not word it as clearly as the Boots of Battle is not the best logic in my opinion, because we have been asking all these years why they did not make the gauntlet's description more clear in the first place. emoticon (Edit -- added the following line.) If they had just clarified whether the gauntlets work with the Warriors melee weapon or not would have gone a long way to making it less confusing I think.

These are magical items and not common equipment. Would a martial artist or soldier be able to enter into a rage of combat in the real world by wearing a Circlet of Wrath? -- just making the point here that there are magical things in WHQ which might never make sense in a realistic combat situation.

Another way to simplify the gauntlets would be to say that they are weapons used as the primary melee weapon(s) instead of a sword or whatever, BUT, I am pretty sure that was not intended in the original rules, because the gauntlets come from the Magic Items treasure table.

I will quote the description:
A Gauntlet of Damzhar gives the wearer +1 Attack at -1 to hit and at +1 to Strength.
If your Warrior wears two gauntlets of Damzhar, their combined power gives an additional +1 Attack (making a total of +3: 1 for each Gauntlet plus +1 for their combined attack) at +1 to hit and causing 4D6 damage.


Notice especially that is says "their combined attack" referring to when there are two equipped, they have a third Attack in addition to the +1 Attack each -- thus adding a slight bit of clarity in my opinion. This seems to imply that the gauntlets' effects, when wearing two at the same time, are combined with each other, but it says nothing about combining their effects with the Warrior's main melee weapon.

It seems to make things more simple and straightforward in my mind if these effects and extra Attacks are kept totally separate from the Warriors normal Attacks with their main melee weapon.

With this type of interpretation, I would also be inclined to say that a Warrior wearing these gauntlets could choose to use a bow as their primary weapon in the turn, while using the gauntlets' Attacks to finish off an adjacent monster or two before attempting to shoot with the ranged weapon -- since they cannot shoot while adjacent to a monster (by the normal rules). The same thing goes for the Boots of Battle, since they are NOT the Warriors primary weapon. In fact, I think I have played this way with the Boots of Battle over the years, kick the nearby monster, killing it and then shooting those farther out.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 22/Jun/2013, 1:31 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
21/Jun/2013, 10:07 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 410
Reply | Quote
Re: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?


I think they could have created any other magic item that give a special attack. They chose a gauntlet on purpose and i believe it was to enhance the Warrior's melee weapon, just like Enhancers, or a Witch Hunter's Attack Amulet, etc.

I'm not promoting realism, just common sense in the fantasy realm. The gauntlets suddenly having a life of their own is ridiculous. Surely they just enhance the Warrior's natural ability? And to be holding a weapon (or two) while you're punching your opponents is absurd, even for Warhammer Quest! I just couldn't feel good about using the gauntlets in such a manner. There are many boots and special kick attacks in Quest to support that aspect, but there are no other gauntlets that support your interpretation of the Gauntlets of Damzhar.

I think the rules the text is more clear as to how i'm using them than to how you're using them. You're focusing on one word "combined" and adding in the all the rest (that they're separate attacks, that you don't add your strength because you're punching, that they're like the boots, that you could still use a bow afterward, etc.). I'm pretty much just using them as they are stated: "Gives wearer +1 Attack..." Who is simplifying here? emoticon

This will be a subject of debate forever, i'm sure.



---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
22/Jun/2013, 3:24 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2  3 





You are not logged in (login)