Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
Donaldinho Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 01-2008
Posts: 76
Reply | Quote
Question : Warrior Attacks (and other things)


When a warrior gains more than 1 attack can he use two 1 handed weapons to make 1 attack each? Assuming the weapons can be wielded in one hand.

For example, 1 attack with the +1 to hit sword, then another attack with a +1D6 damage. If so does this mean that each attack will benefit from from the others ability? I dont think that this should be the case.

(Admin Edit: added to the subject line)

Last edited by OldWarrior, 6/Nov/2011, 11:58 am
4/Mar/2008, 7:51 pm Link to this post Send Email to Donaldinho   Send PM to Donaldinho
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Question : Warrior Attacks


You are correct in your assumption according to a strict application of the basic and advanced rules of Warhammer Quest.

There are at least two things that rule against using more than one weapon in the same turn -- especially in the same hand:

1. Each warrior is supposed to state which weapon (weapon as in singular) they are using at the beginning of their own turn before attacking.

quote:

(from the Rule Book)
A Warrior who has two or more weapons can choose which he wants to use each turn, but he can only use one weapon during any one turn.



2. There are exceptions that prove this fact. The primary exception I am thinking of is the skill of the Trollslayer called Ambidextrous which grants him extra benefits with the ability of wielding two weapons, one in each hand.

But even then, the weapons' effects may not be combined:

quote:

(Quoted from the RolePlay Book)
If the weapons differ in the amount of damage they do, you must nominate which the Dwarf is using for each attack.



The assumption throughout the game is that generally only one weapon may be used in a turn. Many weapons in fact require that two hands be used to wield them (bows, Great Sword and Battle-axe just to name a few).

EXCEPTIONS: as usual in Warhammer Quest, there are even more exceptions to this rule than the one I give above. Most of these exceptions have to do with what I will call combat paraphenalia and special abilities. Some of the exceptions especially are found in the rules for certain warriors -- some custom warriors I have created (a coupole of them I think) are able to actually switch weapons from one attack to the next.

Combat Paraphenalia -- I am referring to items and equipment (especially treasures and special warriors' equipment) that provide extra benefits during combat. Sometimes these things may increase damage (such as the Pit Fighter's Knuckle-dusters, which cause +2 wounds whenver the PF gets a 6 to hit -- assume in melee combat only).

The Pit Fighter has other nice equipment/weapons which increase his destructive powers without requiring any extra skills. Each Knee spike adds +1 attack but at Strength 2 (limited to two Knee Spikes, one per knee). In the case of the Knuckle-dusters, I interpret the Pit Fighter's rules to mean the 2 extra wounds are added on top of his primary melee weapon (usually a Fist Spike as I play the character); but, for the Knee Spikes, I interpret that these are totally separate attacks independent of any other weapons and abilities.

The Gauntlets of Damzhar are interesting in this regard. See this topic for some discussion on these nice, but confusing treasures:

How do the Gaunlets of Damzhar Work?


In short, I see these gaunlets as items and NOT weapons in the strict sense of the word, because they are listed under Magic Items section in the Dungeon Room Treasures portion of the RolePlay Book.

Then there is the Chaos Warrior who is able to use certain artefacts and attributes for multiple and varied attacks. Well, he is chaotic though... emoticon

There is much room for implementing house rules to help handle some of these things. A lot of these issues can be interpreted one way or another depending upon the particular path of logic one uses... But, in general I think, unless an exception is clearly stated, that it is best to follow the more strict rules.


Last edited by OldWarrior, 5/Mar/2008, 2:23 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
5/Mar/2008, 2:20 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Donaldinho Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 01-2008
Posts: 76
Reply | Quote
Re: Question : Warrior Attacks


I was thinking that when asking the question with regard to the trollslayers skill. As if it is possible through gaining a skill then the other warriors cannot benefit from this in normal play as what use would having that skill be to the trollslayer?

Thanks for the response. I think it best to stick to one weapon per warrior unless they have a skill that says otherwise. I think when you play quest solo i have a tendancy to try to overpower warriors abilities.

I do have another question regarding attacks, can warriors divide their attacks to different monsters if they have more than one attack that is?

I know it seems a simple question but i have not played in 6 years so i am a little rusty with the rules.
5/Mar/2008, 9:19 pm Link to this post Send Email to Donaldinho   Send PM to Donaldinho
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Question : Warrior Attacks


Yes, warriors always get to use each attack on any available monster.

Also, remember the death-blow rule.

The basic rule (from the Rule Book, but giving my own words here) is that a melee attack which kills a monster outright (meaning from full wounds to zero wounds in one blow) may then continue on to an adjacent monster -- resolving the attack just like for the first monster (rolling to hit and for damage etc.). If this also slays the second monster, the death-blow may contue on to the thrid available monster and so on...

All targets of a death-blow are considered to be attacked by the same single attack of the warrior. The death-blow should proceed in one direction only and is prevented from going any further by a solid object or by another warrior.

I, however, allow a death-blow for the slaying of any monster in melee combat no matter how many wounds it has, unles the weapon used is not allowed to perform a death-blow.

EDIT: BTW, I have played Warhammer Quest solo quite a bit. It is very easy to cheat... lol

Last edited by OldWarrior, 6/Mar/2008, 1:12 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
6/Mar/2008, 1:11 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Donaldinho Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 01-2008
Posts: 76
Reply | Quote
Re: Question : Warrior Attacks


I did have a simple question on placing monsters, but i cant remember the actual theory behind my question. It was on the lines that when the barbarian explores the new room, the monsters / event is drawn. When do the monsters get placed? After all the warriors have moved into the room? Or when the barbarian has finished his move. I know the monsters dont attack until the next monsters phase, i think i am getting slightly confused with this.

I used to play with my own rules with a friend and the characters we had we just monster slaying machines at level 10, nothing stood a chance even 4 of the highest level dragons! LOL

I think i had the two gaunlets with the blade of leaping gold, with 10 rings of attribute increase all on on warrior! I think he had something like 15 attacks or something silly like that.

I prefer a bit more danger and chance of the warriors dying.

I love some of the new rules that people have devised.

I am currently coming up with some rules for a Lizardman Warrior. And also so new monsters for various dungeon levels.
6/Mar/2008, 1:25 am Link to this post Send Email to Donaldinho   Send PM to Donaldinho
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Question : Warrior Attacks


You need to review the Rule Book I think -- a refresher course. emoticon

If you follow the phases for a turn it will become more clear as to when the monsters are placed and when they can attack and etc.

The Warrior Phase is when the warriors (not just the Barbarian) may enter a new room (edit: presumably the new room was revealed in the last turn during the Exploration Phase at the end of the turn). Any warrior entering a new room can trigger the placement of monsters. However there might not be any monsters, because your Event Card (drawn in the Monster Phase) might actually reveal an event.

The monsters are placed in the Monster Phase -- which comes after the Warrior Phase in the turn.

The monsters do NOT attack until next turn in that turn's Monster Phase. This is what usually gives the warriors a chance to attack first. There are some exceptions to this. See the Monster Special Rules type of monster that appears. Giant Bats for instance Ambush (attack as soon as they are placed). Beastmen Throw Spears as soon as they are placed (but this only happens once -- they each only have one spear to throw emoticon), but they do NOT do their normal attacks until the next turn as usual.

By way of clarification: The Barbarian carries the Lantern and technically is the only one who can explore, but the Lantern lights the same baord section and all board sections adjacent to the Barbarian's baord section. Therefore, other warriors are able to enter a new room without the Barbarian -- not advisable early in their careers though.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 6/Mar/2008, 2:05 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
6/Mar/2008, 2:02 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Donaldinho Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 01-2008
Posts: 76
Reply | Quote
Re: Question : Warrior Attacks


Cheers for the clarification on that.

I had an image of the monsters being placed as soon as the barbarian (or latern holder) entering a room then being completly surrounded before any other warrior can move into the room.

I have finished my Empire Solider Character. Let me know what you think of the final version.

I am going to test him up to level 3 over the next couple of weeks to see how he stands up to the cruel Warhammer Quest world.

I have also just started work on the Warhammer 40K Quest, hopefully i should have a working game ready by the summer. I will keep you updated on that if you want to put any of it on your website.

Regards

Donaldinho
6/Mar/2008, 6:34 pm Link to this post Send Email to Donaldinho   Send PM to Donaldinho
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)