You're welcome.
Community logo       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

spikeinthepit Profile
Live feed
Miscellaneous info


Registered: 01-2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 109
Reply | Quote
Brockhouse events and wounds

I really like the Brockhouse event tables but just wondering how other people use them, first how does one roll a D100?

Secondly the hazard and settlement tables sometimes cause wounds, how does one go about healing or not healing these wounds?

Considering that the hazards take place over weeks it seems quite a stretch to assume the wizard couldn't heal the wounds in the meantime and if he could then any wounds suffered are pointless :S .

25/Aug/2008, 11:07 pm Link to this post Send Email to spikeinthepit   Send PM to spikeinthepit Yahoo
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Miscellaneous info


Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Brockhouse events and wounds

I use the Brockhouse events about 50% of the time. I roll 1D6 for each Dungeon Event, Hazard, and Settlement Event. On 1-3, I roll on the RPB, on 4-6, I roll on the Brockhouse table.

I agree with you about the wounds. There is one exception: if an event sets up an actual dungeon-like combat, then I think following the normal rules for wounding and healing is appropriate.

Other than that, I basically modify such an event to fit the scenario or to fit the party some way, OR I re-roll it entirely.

Thecustodian says that Warriors shouldn't die between adventures. Though I do not entirely agree with that, because I think the Warriors should be forced to use some of their Luck points (from time to time) left over from the adventure to help get them out of potentially death-dealing situations.

As for rolling a D100, it is really easy if you use a computer for dice rolls. The D&D Dice Roller (for free from Wizard's of the Coast) is excellent for all sorts of dice rolls. Also, with that one you can do an abnormal dice roll as well, by entering your own dice number (7, 11, 99, 5, or whatever).

If you are using physical dice, you roll 2D10's, one of them for the 1's units and one of them for the 10's. If you roll two 0's (or 10's), you have rolled 100.

EDIT: Though I haven't actually dealt with physical D10 dice, the above explanation I think will work whether you have dice taht goe 1 through 10 or 0 through 9. See, I don't even know if two different types of D10 dice exist. But, I would treat a "10" or a "0" as a 10.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 3/Sep/2008, 4:36 pm

Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
26/Aug/2008, 11:53 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog

Add a reply

You are not logged in (login)