Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
RedDog3 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 01-2009
Posts: 21
Reply | Quote
Question on Monster Special Attacks


I only started playing WHQ a few months ago, and we have had some good games so far. I wish I would have come across this great game a long time ago.

Anyway, I was unable to find in the rulebook any indication of when special attacks such as Magic and Vomit would take place during the monster phase. For instance, both Magic and Vomit can potentially affect the attacks that follow, so I am assuming they take place as the first action for a Monster's turn. Is that correct?

Also, if a monster has more than one Magic per turn, do you usually resolve both at once, or would you split it up to make it less lethal?

Thanks for the help.
5/Jan/2009, 6:52 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDog3   Send PM to RedDog3
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Question on Monster Special Attacks


Magic attacks/spells: These are supposed to be resolved at the beginning of the Monster Phase BEFORE all normal monster attacks (melee and ballistic).

For instance, here is a quote from the Chaos Sorcerer section of the RolePlay Book (bold added for emphasis):

quote:

At the start of each Monsters' Phase, a Chaos Sorcerer may cast one or more
of the following spells...



I, therefore, have a Monster Phase which is organized like this:

1. All Monster Spells - if more than one spell caster is involved, then I do them in order of Initiative, or (if same Initiative) then in a random order. Sometimes, I go by which spell caster came first into the combat.

2. All Ballistic Monster Attacks - according to the Rule Book's instructions.

3. All Melee Monster Attacks - according to the Rule Book instructions.

This separates the spell casters' magic attacks and physical attacks within the Monster Phase.

As for splitting up the spells, this could be good or bad, depending upon the types of spells cast and what type of protection and healing the Warrior party have available. But, I think the intention was for all these bad guys' spells to be cast immediately.

Often I have found that Warriors taken to ZERO Wounds from the magic attacks lessens the amount of damage they will take overall during the turn, because monsters then cannot hurt them anymore -- if left on ZERO until the end of the turn (or just before the end) when some healing things can still be applied. Of course, there must be someone above ZERO Wounds to help get everyone back on their feet.

I am a little easy on the Warriors in that I allow any healing potion to be used like the original Elf Healing Potion: any Warrior on the board can drink a healing potion no matter who actually carries it. This is a house rule to help the Warriors survive. But, I still require the adjacency and the 4+ on 1D6 to apply Bandages and Provisions to heal an "unconscious" Warrior.

Some Fatal Damage, poison, and plague stuff is so dangerous that I like to ensure, when possible, that Warriors have enough wounds just before the end of the turn to avoid dying.

Concerning Vomit: I see nothing that specifies exactly when it should be resolved. I always do it AFTER the Troll's regular attacks, but I see no reason why it would have to be that way. I believe it should either be before OR after the normal attacks, since it is something different. However it is handled, I recommend it be done the same way all the time.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 6/Jan/2009, 5:10 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
6/Jan/2009, 5:07 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
RedDog3 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 01-2009
Posts: 21
Reply | Quote
Re: Question on Monster Special Attacks


quote:

OldWarrior wrote:
Concerning Vomit: I see nothing that specifies exactly when it should be resolved. I always do it AFTER the Troll's regular attacks, but I see no reason why it would have to be that way. I believe it should either be before OR after the normal attacks, since it is something different. However it is handled, I recommend it be done the same way all the time.

Thanks for the help.

We have been playing skills like Vomit at the end of the turn. One of my friends feels that even if the Troll knocks the Warrior to 0, he will still vomit on the Warrior. Obviously the additional damage doesn't matter but it still could destroy a shield of helm. My feeling is that once the Warrior is at 0, the monster ignores him. I have yet to find a good definitive answer in the book. What's your opinion?
7/Jan/2009, 12:00 pm Link to this post Send Email to RedDog3   Send PM to RedDog3
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Question on Monster Special Attacks


quote:

RedDog3 wrote:

Thanks for the help.

We have been playing skills like Vomit at the end of the turn. One of my friends feels that even if the Troll knocks the Warrior to 0, he will still vomit on the Warrior. Obviously the additional damage doesn't matter but it still could destroy a shield of helm. My feeling is that once the Warrior is at 0, the monster ignores him. I have yet to find a good definitive answer in the book. What's your opinion?



You're welcome!

Ah, yes, the ole monster ignoration situation! (a new word, I think, just for this post) emoticon

Remember that when a Warrior is on ZERO Wounds, he is then considered "unconscious" by WHQ. It is highly improbable that he would still be standing. Therefore, I say he is to be treated as prone. In this case, the rules are clear I think in that they say the Warrior who is prone is ignored unless the monsters run out of targets, in which case they will search the bodies and find the Warrior is still alive.

Of course, "unconscious" is really a step beyond prone, because a Warrior can be prone even when above ZERO Wounds.

The way I handle Warriors on ZERO Wounds is that the monsters do not attack them in any way.

However,....

I think your particular question would have much to do with how the Troll Vomit is interpreted. Is it a conscious act on the part of the troll? or, is it something it just happens to do without thought? The way it reads (assuming it is an unconscious act for the Troll), I think your friend has a very valid point. But, I treat the Troll Vomit as a conscious attack, though I probably shouldn't emoticon -- me being too nice to the Warriors again I presume.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 9/Jan/2009, 3:21 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
9/Jan/2009, 3:20 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
RedDog3 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 01-2009
Posts: 21
Reply | Quote
Re: Question on Monster Special Attacks


Thanks man...In looking over your comments and thinking abut it, I am thinking the clearest (but meanest) way to handle it is to say that Monsters will use their special attacks at the earliest opportunity...which means that attacks like Vomit come first.
12/Jan/2009, 4:42 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDog3   Send PM to RedDog3
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)