Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
soundwav Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 02-2009
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
questions? (Diagonal Movement...)


111111 can w move between two people or
11wa11 monster on the diagonally to spot 2
11a211
111111 can w attack 2 between two people or
       monster on the diagonally


do you have to stop when you become next to a monster or can you finish your movement first?

(Admin EDIT: added to subject)

Last edited by OldWarrior, 4/Nov/2011, 1:38 pm
4/Feb/2009, 7:45 am Link to this post Send Email to soundwav   Send PM to soundwav
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


quote:

soundwav wrote:

111111 can w move between two people or
11wa11 monster on the diagonally to spot 2
11a211
111111 can w attack 2 between two people or
       monster on the diagonally


do you have to stop when you become next to a monster or can you finish your movement first?



Diagonal Movement Between Models?

Yes, as long as the Warrior is able to escape pinning, or was not next to a monster to begin with, then I think it is generally accepted that he can move from one diagonal to an empty one if moving between models (whether mosnters or not).

Moving between a model and a wall corner on the other hand is not allowed by implication, because the rules indicate that it takes two steps to move around a corner - cannot move diagonally across a corner.

Therefore, by implication, I think we have an answer. If moving diagonally past models was not allowed, I think the rules would have specifically stated it along with the specific wall/corner restriction on movement.


Stopping/Pinning During Movement?

I am very convinced also that Warhammer Quest rules never intended that a Warrior would become pinned during his movement when entering an empty square which is adjacent to a monster.

Here is my reasoning based upon the Rule Book:

1. The rules make it clear that the Warrior should roll to escape pinning IF he is adjacent to one or more monsters at the beginning of the Warrior Phase.

2. The rules also state that only one escape pinning roll is to be made no matter how many monsters the Warrior is adjacent to at the beginning of the Warrior Phase.

3. No mention is made of being adjacent to a monster in reference to movement apart from the beginning of the Warrior Phase.


EDIT: However, some may wish to house rule these things differently. As with most things in WHQ, the GM/DM, or the consensus among the players (if no GM/DM is involved), can overrule. emoticon

Last edited by OldWarrior, 5/Feb/2009, 1:55 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
5/Feb/2009, 1:51 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


OldWarrior is correct I believe.

I also believe that it is at times worth house ruling. For example, to make the battles more tactical, I usually require warriors to make Initiative tests to leap or slide between two models when attempting to move diagonally if at least one of the models is a Monster.

The rules don't explicitly force you to do stuff like this, but it is hard to picture an average character like a Wizard easily moving between two burly Orcs!
8/Feb/2009, 9:07 am Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


Oops! I think I forgot to address the attacking diagonally, but I believe this is also implied by the general trend of the rules, since melee attacks are allowed to be made against and adjacent monster. There is usually no difference made between adjacency and diagonal adjacency in Warhammer Quest.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
8/Feb/2009, 10:44 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


Yeah, even though I prohibit movement through diagonals I NEVER prohibit shooting - the game is tough enough for range guys emoticon
8/Feb/2009, 2:24 pm Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
Sardaukar74 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 09-2008
Posts: 87
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


I'm reviving this thread because I just came across something strange...

Generally, it is possible for a warrior to move diagonally between other models to an empty square. However, I just found that the Contortionist skill of the Assassin (from DB magazine) states:

"Contortionist. You may move diagonally between two warriors using strange (and terrifying) body movements."

Sounds a bit odd, but perhaps he can always move past other warriors, even if there would be 2 movement steps, like in the following example:

A...Assassin
1,2,3... Warriors
M...Monsters
B...possible target positions

XXAXX
M123M
XBBBX

Last edited by Sardaukar74, 4/Jun/2009, 9:20 pm
4/Jun/2009, 9:17 pm Link to this post Send Email to Sardaukar74   Send PM to Sardaukar74
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


quote:

Sardaukar74 wrote:

I'm reviving this thread because I just came across something strange...

Generally, it is possible for a warrior to move diagonally between other models to an empty square. However, I just found that the Contortionist skill of the Assassin (from DB magazine) states:

"Contortionist. You may move diagonally between two warriors using strange (and terrifying) body movements."

Sounds a bit odd, but perhaps he can always move past other warriors, even if there would be 2 movement steps, like in the following example:

A...Assassin
1,2,3... Warriors
M...Monsters
B...possible target positions

XXAXX
M123M
XBBBX



Hmmm... this makes me wonder...

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
4/Jun/2009, 11:35 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Jerv Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 05-2009
Posts: 101
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


Other strage thing about moving diagonnaly you can see in the Wardance booklet p.5 ont he picture that shows dance o death. On that picture the wardancer move one more square just no to move diagonaly through the square with dwarf.
BTW for me the special rule for wandancer gives some light how the death blow should be worked on, and I think that you can have death blow only after killing unharmed monsters.
5/Jun/2009, 1:09 am Link to this post Send Email to Jerv   Send PM to Jerv
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: questions?


quote:

Jerv wrote:

Other strage thing about moving diagonnaly you can see in the Wardance booklet p.5 ont he picture that shows dance o death. On that picture the wardancer move one more square just no to move diagonaly through the square with dwarf.
BTW for me the special rule for wandancer gives some light how the death blow should be worked on, and I think that you can have death blow only after killing unharmed monsters.



I certainly agree with the idea that the original Death-blow rule was only intended to apply when unharmed monsters are killed in one blow.

I plan to look into this diagonal movement issue more though. Of course, if the Warriors cannot move diagonally between other models, then it should also apply to the monsters. emoticon

Last edited by OldWarrior, 5/Jun/2009, 8:56 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
5/Jun/2009, 8:54 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)