Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
RedDog3 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 01-2009
Posts: 21
Reply | Quote
Gauntlet of Damzhar


Gauntlet of Damzhar (500G)
A Gauntlet of Damzhar gives the wearer +1 Attack at -1 to hit and at +1 to Strength. If your Warrior wears two gauntlets of Damzhar, their combined power gives an additional +1 Attack (making a total of +3: 1 for each Gauntlet plus +1 for their combined attack) at +1 to hit and causing 4D6 damage.


Am I understanding what this item does?

The way I read this is that the gauntlet grants the Warrior +1 Attack with his primary weapon, but that attack is done at -1 To Hit and +1 Strength. Then, if he is fortunate enough to find another gauntlet, he gains +3 Attacks with his primary weapon and each of those attacks at +1 To Hit and 4d6 Wounds with no modifier for Strength.

No matter what, it is a good item, but I'd like to know how other people interpret it.
7/Mar/2009, 6:32 pm Link to this post Send Email to RedDog3   Send PM to RedDog3
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Gauntlet of Damzhar


After trying to explain this treasure extensively and ending up taking two different positions during the explanation, I am very torn as to which way to go.

I will give a link to the other topic here where I worked very hard to explain the item: How do the Gauntlets of Damzhar work?

There you will also find a link to a topic in my own message board where I think I explained it differently. emoticon

I disagree somewhat with Littlemonk's reply I think, but I am not even sure of that right now. lol

Last edited by OldWarrior, 8/Mar/2009, 12:54 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
8/Mar/2009, 12:49 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
RedDog3 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion

Registered: 01-2009
Posts: 21
Reply | Quote
Re: Gauntlet of Damzhar


Yeah, I see how Littlemonk comes to his conclusion, but it also makes this item one of the most complex of the entire game...which makes me think his interpretation is off.

To be honest, in looking at it over and over and over again, my conclusion is that it is one of the more poorly written blocks of text in the book...and the 4d6 is pretty powerful even for 1000G. I may suggest a simpler house rule for it for our group:

Gauntlet of Damzhar (500G)
While wearing the Gauntlet of Damzhar, the Warrior is granted +1 Attack with his primary weapon. If the Warrior wears two gauntlets of Damzhar, their combined power grants a total of +2 Attacks with the Warrior's primary weapon and all attacks for the turn are at +2 Wounds.
8/Mar/2009, 3:18 pm Link to this post Send Email to RedDog3   Send PM to RedDog3
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 431
Reply | Quote
Re: Gauntlet of Damzhar


I'm in COMPLETE TOTAL AGREEMENT here:

This is one of the more poorly written blocks of text in the GAME... or was it??

You know that it was probably purposely done by some evil bastard writer at Games Workshop, right after he was told that he was going to be laid off at the end of the week!

But in my remake of the item tables, i have made two separate Gauntlets of Damzhar; a Right and a Left one, and have made the odds of obtaining both a bit greater!

But to be honest, i first played the gauntlets with the +3 attacks @ 4D6 Damage... and literally obliterated everything on the board! It was then that i started to think more about it.

Great item/idea, regardless! I love this game!

---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

9/Mar/2009, 6:34 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Disc0Stu Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 03-2009
Posts: 14
Reply | Quote
Re: Gauntlet of Damzhar


In all my 13 years of on and off playing, nobody I've played with has actually assembled a pair these gauntlets. However, this is how I've always interpreted this rule.

Each gauntlet retains its original attribute, +1 Attack at -1 to hit and at +1 to Strength. Then their combined attack was +1 to hit and 4D6 damage.

We, however, always treated them separately from your primary weapon. Similar to boots of battle or Darting Steel Daggers. So it was the idea of the user slashing with his sword and then delivering a follow up punch with the gauntlet itself.

Anyways, enough of my long rambling, but that's how we play it in my neck of the woods emoticon

-Disc0Stu
10/Mar/2009, 5:15 pm Link to this post Send Email to Disc0Stu   Send PM to Disc0Stu
 
BassJam Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 07-2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 539
Reply | Quote
Re: Gauntlet of Damzhar


I've never seen these both in use either. But that is pretty dern buff, mostly because of the +3 Attacks.

I don't think the 4d6 damage itself is insane, because there is no Strength modifier on the final attack. So it is on average a little bit more than what a Level 1 Ogre is capable of dishing out for 2 Attacks per Turn.

It is not modified by the character's damage dice either, so at higher levels it won't seem as overpowered. Disc0Stu explains best that there are no additional attacks granted with the primary weapon! The worst part of the rule wording is that the word "attack" should be in lower case. Upper case indicates that the character's actual stat goes up, which is totally wrong. But they did that a LOT in WHQ rules, so you gotta watch out emoticon
10/Mar/2009, 11:41 pm Link to this post Send Email to BassJam   Send PM to BassJam
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Gauntlet of Damzhar


Another old topic! Wow! time does fly while Warhammer Questing!

Anyway, as GM here is what I have recently outlined as my ruling on this treasure.

Just some points of clarification for the use of this treasure in my games:

1. It counts as a magic item and NOT as a primary weapon. Yet, I might allow it to be used as a primary weapon IF none other is available. In such a case, it would only do Normal Damage when used for a Warrior's normal Attacks.
2. It does NOT modify or combine with the Warrior's normal Attacks with their primary weapon.
3. It works similar to the Boots of Battle in that the extra Attack(s) is(are) resolved separately from the Warrior's normal Attacks.
4. When two of these gauntlets are used by the same Warrior, the 4D6 damage is used in place of their normal damage dice. The Warrior's normal Strength would then be added to the damage dice rolled. The 4D6 for damage is assumed to take the place of the +1 Strength benefit of using a single Gauntlet of Damzhar.
5. Yes, I will allow this treasure to Death-Blow.


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
4/Nov/2011, 3:59 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)