Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2 

 
banedrom Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 15
Reply | Quote
Chaos Warrior Questions


Greetings!

I am relatively new to WQ, but I am already completely obsessed with this game. After 15 years of Warhammer and 40K, this game is just so much fun and a welcome break from Army v Army.

I did use the board search function, but with no luck. I did try to find my answer before posting!

Anyhow, my questions are as follows:

1. If a Chaos Warrior has multiple copies of the same attribute, does that count towards the attribute total? For example, My warrior is level 2 and has Insubstantial, Telepathy, Fangs, Teleport, Another Teleport, Fiery Eyes. Since I have Teleport 2 times, does that mean that I have 6 Attributes or do I have 5 attributes? Basically, this is to determine how many dice I roll when I enter a Chaos Temple to determine if I abandon the party to join the legions of the Chaos Armies.

2. Does a Chaos Artifact count as a treasure? For example if an event determines that I must discard a random treasure, do my artifacts count?

Any help in these matters would be truly appreciated as it is something I have found to be rather unclear.
6/Sep/2013, 2:40 am Link to this post Send Email to banedrom   Send PM to banedrom Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


Hello, Banedrom,

Welcome to the board!

These are very good questions. emoticon

I will give you my opinions. I do have a good number of years experience with the game. Also, please remember that some things are easily interpreted differently by different players, especially when some of the rules are less clear than they could be. However, I also think that some things are just not well understood because some do not read the rules carefully and accept what they do clearly teach.

The Chaos Warrior's rules are some of the more hotly debated ones in my opinion. So, maybe some of them are not very clear.

Question 1: YES, getting the same Chaos Attribute more than once counts towards the total.

I think the issue of a certain type of Attribute preventing the CW from entering a settlement is already handled by the fact that some of those say to reroll. For instance, for Albino, "If your Chaos Warrior is already an albino, then roll again for a different attribute."

Question 2: NO, Chaos Artefacts I do NOT count as treasures, because they cannot be sold and they are usually not gained as the normal Dungeon Room Treasures and Objective Room Treasures are gained

However, I WOULD count Chaos Artefacts as equipment, since they are physical objects. So, if an event says that the Warrior loses a random piece of treasure or equipment, or something destroys a weapon or piece of armour, then I would allow the Chaos Artefacts to be chosen/affected.

Just remember that all Chaos Artefacts are also considered to be magical -- as are all the RolePlay Book Weapons, Armour, and Magic Items. I think that some events/effects might specify non-magical equipment.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
6/Sep/2013, 6:39 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
banedrom Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 15
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


Awesome, thank you for the quick reply.

I actually agree on all counts.

I am enjoying playing the Chaos Warrior. It was my first character that survived the brutally difficult first dungeon, even though I only tried another Chaos Warrior and a Warrior Priest. However due to some poor rolling at level up, I am increasingly nervous about bailing the party for the Chaos Army sooner rather than later.

I also realize that this post belongs more in the Warrior sub forum. Silly me.
9/Sep/2013, 8:59 am Link to this post Send Email to banedrom   Send PM to banedrom Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


Hey, no problem about posting in the wrong forum. For a change, I actually forgot to notice that too! Silly ME! emoticon

I am moving it now.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
10/Sep/2013, 10:00 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
banedrom Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 15
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


Now what about this question.

It specifically says that a Chaos Warrior cannot use magical weapons. Are there weapons that are non-magical? Treasures do not always say if they are magical or not.

Some are obvious. Blades boots is non magical for example. But others are a bit muddled.

Cloak of Deception. Magical? Sword of Slicing. Magical?

12/Sep/2013, 4:47 am Link to this post Send Email to banedrom   Send PM to banedrom Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


The Treasure tables in the RolePlay Book state that the items within are magical. One of which is Magic Sword It's only advantage being that it has the magical weapon quality -- otherwise, doing normal damage. emoticon

Here I quote from the Weapons and Armour treasure table in the RolePlay Book.

quote:

Your Warrior has come across a magic weapon or a piece of magical armour.
Make a D66 roll on the following table to determine exactly what item he has
found.



I think this is an easy standard to use. It quickly answers the question as to whether the Blade of Slicing is magical or not, YES. emoticon Also, I usually assume that Treasure Cards represent magical items, weapons, and armour as well, unless they are clearly a reproduction of common equipment found in a settlement or clearly state the fact.

Yes, there are weapons (and armour) that the Chaos Warrior can use which are not magical. They are found in the Weaponsmith's shop (and Armourer). emoticon

My opinion is that they wanted to help provide some balance to the Chaos Warrior while still maintaining his chaotic/random advancement through Attributes and Artefacts and thus intended that he should NOT be allowed to use the treasure weapons and armour that are available to other Warriors.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
12/Sep/2013, 7:19 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
banedrom Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 15
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


Ahh. The many hole filled rule set has brought me back to this thread. So I leveled up this weekend, my group only gets to play a few times a month, and I rolled miserably. Had to use both my Mark of Chaos and one luck to stop from joining the armies of chaos. Rolled a characteristic and got will power emoticon Rolled a artifact and got one that I already have.

Question. I saw no where that you reroll artifacts that you already have, so I'm stuck with two crappy blades of disenchantment?
16/Sep/2013, 3:23 pm Link to this post Send Email to banedrom   Send PM to banedrom Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


quote:

banedrom wrote:

Ahh. The many hole filled rule set has brought me back to this thread. So I leveled up this weekend, my group only gets to play a few times a month, and I rolled miserably. Had to use both my Mark of Chaos and one luck to stop from joining the armies of chaos. Rolled a characteristic and got will power emoticon Rolled a artifact and got one that I already have.

Question. I saw no where that you reroll artifacts that you already have, so I'm stuck with two crappy blades of disenchantment?



I will try to research this later, unless someone answers before I get back from work. emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
17/Sep/2013, 3:28 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


From the Chaos Warrior Rulebook (my emphasis in bold):

Whenever the Chaos Warrior gains another chaos artefact, roll a D66 and
consult the following table to see what the new artefact is.


We always play that you re-roll the result if you get a Chaos Artefact that you already have. Same goes for his Starting Artefacts if he receives more than 1.

Attributes are obviously different and the rules specifically address what happens when if receive two of the same Attribute or if you are to roll again.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
17/Sep/2013, 4:38 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
banedrom Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 15
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior Questions


That does make sense. As much as I love it, there are some glaring holes sometimes.

18/Sep/2013, 2:15 am Link to this post Send Email to banedrom   Send PM to banedrom Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)