Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)


Page:  1  2 

 
mearl8252 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2013
Posts: 28
Reply | Quote
first tile with event?, stairs?


 when the first tile is pulled and it has a event the warriors are placed then monsters or do you skip it?
 what page is the rules for the stairs on?

Last edited by mearl8252, 7/Feb/2014, 6:32 pm
23/Jan/2014, 10:47 am Link to this post Send Email to mearl8252   Send PM to mearl8252 Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 411
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


quote:

mearl8252 wrote:

 when the first tile is pulled and it has a event the warriors are placed then monsters or do you skip it?
 what page is the rules for the stairs on?



From the Main Rulebook (page 11), step #4 and #5:

4 Turn over the top card from the Dungeon deck. This is the entrance to the dungeon. Place the corresponding board section in the middle of your table or playing area. Now attach the doorways as indicated on the card by clipping them onto it. The doorways' positions are marked in white on the picture of the room on the Dungeon card.

5 Place the model representing the leader (the Warrior with the lantern) in any square in the entrance board section.

Now place the rest of the Warrior models on the board, starting with the Warrior who has the highest Initiative value, and then the next highest, and so on. Each Warrior model can start in any square.

6 Let the adventure begin!



If you start in a Dungeon Room, you roll the Power Phase. Then you move your Warriors anywhere you want. Then you draw the Event card. If it is Monsters, place them at this time. Any Monsters with the Ambush Ability attack. End of turn. Begin the next turn by rolling for the Power Phase...

There are no special rules for the stairway. It is treated as a Passageway/Corridor.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
23/Jan/2014, 12:14 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
mearl8252 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2013
Posts: 28
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


Well then that is a lot better then are rule guy was telling us. He was saying the dungeon started over but I could not find this rule anywhere and that's a good thing emoticon .

thanks
24/Jan/2014, 6:39 pm Link to this post Send Email to mearl8252   Send PM to mearl8252 Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


That is a good answer by Littlemonk.

I would like to clarify something that might help in the case that a 1 were rolled in the first Power Phase of the game in this situation -- sort of anticipating a further question by some newer players.

Placing the Warriors on the first board section is part of setting up the game/Adeventure. Once all four Warriors are in position, then the Adventure begins.

So, if you begin in a room and roll a 1 in the Power Phase of the first turn, you resolve the Unexpected Event, drawing an event card and following its instructions, BEFORE the Warriors take there first turn in the game. So, it is possible that monsters could be placed, and even ambush the Warriors before the first Warrior Phase of the game.

In fact, if a 1 were rolled in the first Power Phase in this situation, then you could potentially have two or more monster Events in the first turn of the game, because in the Monster Phase a Dungeon Room Event would still be drawn.

This is one situation where the rule about not placing monsters when you run out of space is very helpful.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 25/Jan/2014, 7:07 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
25/Jan/2014, 12:05 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 411
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


The Power Phase roll being a '1' and placing two sets of Monsters didn't make sense to me. So i thought about this a bit further and now i believe that you don't draw an Event Card automatically if the first Board Section is a Dungeon Room. And here is why:

Main Rulebook, Page 18:

NEW ROOMS
If the Warriors move into a new room during the Warriors' Phase, then you must begin the Monsters' Phase by drawing a card from the Event deck to see what is inside. If the card reveals Monsters, they are always placed inside the room, even if the Warriors are split up between several board sections.


The Adventure hadn't begun when the Warriors were placed on the first Board Section. So they haven't actually moved into a new room during the Warriors' Phase. They therefore shouldn't draw an Event Card in that room.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
25/Jan/2014, 4:36 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


I guess this is another place in the rules where we find room for interpretation. I think your logic is valid, though I see it a bit differently.

Getting two monster events, one from entering the room and one from the current and/or even the very next Power Phase is always a possibility throughout the entire Adventure -- unless using a house rule that prevents any more normal monster events until the current combat ends. Therefore, I do not see it as being any different for the first room, if it happens to be the very first board section. In fact, it would quite possibly result in fewer monsters if it were to happen on the first board section than when it happens in a later-revealed board section -- because of the limit on only placing monsters only IF there is enough room to place them.

This also brings to mind (my mind anyway emoticon) the issue of an Unexpected Event happening immediately after a new room is revealed but NOT yet entered. I take the liberty (interpretation again) of placing monsters even in the un-entered new room (since it is adjacent to the room where monsters arrive AND revealed), especially in the spaces which are adjacent to the Warriors. In such a case, I make sure to remind the Warriors/players NOT to enter that new room unless they wish to trigger another event.

Where this latter situation can get tricky then, is when magic users and ranged monsters get placed in the un-entered room.

I have surprisingly NOT faced this situation very often -- especially with the at-a-distance monsters, but I think sometimes it can give the Warriors the added strategy option of trying to "lure the monsters out" or just wait and shoot at them, in order to avoid revealing more monsters before the Warriors feel ready to face them.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
25/Jan/2014, 5:18 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 411
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


I believe that rules state that until the Warriors enter a Board Section, you should put the dungeon card on the board section to remind you it hasn't been explored. So we don't put any new monsters on a board section that hasn't been walked on. Because you can explore through a doorway, leave, and then come back. Monsters won't reveal themselves until you step on to the board section.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
25/Jan/2014, 5:27 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


quote:

Littlemonk wrote:

I believe that rules state that until the Warriors enter a Board Section, you should put the dungeon card on the board section to remind you it hasn't been explored. So we don't put any new monsters on a board section that hasn't been walked on. Because you can explore through a doorway, leave, and then come back. Monsters won't reveal themselves until you step on to the board section.



You are very right about what the rules state. You will notice I did say "I take the liberty..." Maybe they would make the issue of placing monsters among other things -- even more clear in a re-publishing of the game.

EDIT: I would like to add that Littlemonk's point about putting the actual Event Card on the un-entered dungeon room certainly does seem to prohibit the placing of other new monsters in that room as well. I GM and solo so many WHQ games in a private online setting so much that I sometimes overlook things like this that are easier to remember while playing with the actual physical components of the game.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 26/Jan/2014, 6:40 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
25/Jan/2014, 5:38 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1264
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


Maybe they should have foreseen that the first section being a room could cause some confusion, and then make a special ruling for that instance -- or at least they could have made the wording of the existing rules take that into consideration.

Here is another question:

If the first board section is a room, and you place the doorways one on each side of the room as the rules indicate, what do the doorways indicate? Is it that one of them is the entrance/exit to the dungeon and the other leads to an unexplored section of the dungeon? OR, is it that both of the doorways lead to unexplored sections of the dungeon?

My own idea is that one of them must be the entrance and that it should be declared so BEFORE the Warriors are placed at the beginning of the Adventure. Otherwise, the Dungeon Deck would have to be split up immediately just like when a T-section is revealed. Yet, I would be interested in what anyone else thinks. I don't think the rules are clear on this, but I could have forgotten something.

I know that the rules state that the way the Warriors entered the dungeon can also be used to exit it, but I don't think that necessarily makes it clear if it must be a literal plastic doorway or whether they are just able to exit from that board section period -- similar to how they can exit from a board section where they experience the DAYLIGHT? (#61) Dungeon Event -- where they can exit through a trap door in the ceiling.

EDIT: aha! They DID give us a picture which answers this question:

--Log in or sign up to see linked image content--

(page 12 of Rule Book)


So, obviously they thought we should just treat one of the normal doorway clip-on positions as the entrance to the dungeon. Notice, it is a room board section that they show. emoticon

Last edited by OldWarrior, 25/Jan/2014, 8:40 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
25/Jan/2014, 7:10 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
mearl8252 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2013
Posts: 28
Reply | Quote
Re: simple questions


I believe it makes perfect since for the first tile to be able to cause an event after the placing of warriors it's just not clear in the rule book.
28/Jan/2014, 3:08 pm Link to this post Send Email to mearl8252   Send PM to mearl8252 Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)