Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)


Poll
Yes, I follow the First Attack Rule
No, I do NOT follow the First Attack Rule
Sometimes, I follow the First Attack Rule
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1255
Reply | Quote
Do you follow the First Attack Rule? (Poll)


This is could be a simple "Yes" or "No" poll, but I am including a third option. "Sometimes", so that everyone can vote. Then people can discuss their reasons if they wish. emoticon

Here I quote the First Attack Rule section in its entirety from the Warhammer Quest Rule Book:

quote:

THE FIRST ATTACK RULE
Monsters placed in the Power Phase as a result of an Unexpected Event must obey the First Attack rule in the following Monsters' Phase. Monsters placed in the Monsters' Phase as a result of Warriors entering a Dungeon Room must also obey the First Attack rule in the next Monsters' Phase.

The First Attack rule simply states that Monsters placed to attack a Warrior will try to fight that Warrior when they make their first attack. Even if the Warrior has moved away, the Monster will follow and attack if it possibly can.

The First Attack rule overrides the normal One-on-One rule. The reason for this is that you have already decided who the Monsters will fight when they are placed. Once this turn of 'first attack' is over, the One-on-One rule is used to determine who the Monsters attack once more.

Bear in mind that Monsters are pinned in place if they start the Monsters' Phase next to a Warrior. Pinned Monsters always stay where they are, regardless of the First Attack rule.



Last edited by OldWarrior, 25/Jan/2014, 9:17 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
25/Jan/2014, 9:14 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1255
Reply | Quote
Re: Do you follow the First Attack Rule?


In one place where WHQ fans were seriously discussing revising the rules (as a homebrew/community project), someone said that they had decided NOT to bother with the First Attack Rule (not to include it in their new revised rules), because no one used it! I think that was a small number of people, but it has made me curious...

I DO follow the First Attack Rule. emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
25/Jan/2014, 9:17 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 49
Reply | Quote
Re: Do you follow the First Attack Rule? (Poll)


Since I own our groups game of WHQ, I direct most of the monster traffic. I TRY to remember to use the First Attack Rule, but sometimes it is a challenge to remember who attacked who once the monsters start moving and dying.
27/Jan/2014, 12:06 pm Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 279
Reply | Quote
Re: Do you follow the First Attack Rule? (Poll)


If monster is placed to attack Character 1 and Character 2, not 1, attacks said monster, monster goes after Character 2 no matter if Character 1 was first in its beady little eyes.
Pain is the greatest motivator!
I follow the reality of combat in this than Andy's attempt at numerical fairness.

Last edited by Warrior Monk, 19/Jun/2014, 3:41 pm


---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
19/Jun/2014, 3:40 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)