Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Gigantic Spider Damage


Hey [sign in to see URL] noticed something odd about this monster and I was wondering if I was missing something.

The gigantic spider's damage is listed as 2 damage dice. It also has the Web (1D6) ability.

The Web ability says the following:
While webbed, a Warrior may be bitten automatically with the rest of the Monster's Attacks (no to hit roll is needed) for 1Dn Wounds per bite (where n is the value after the Web entry), with no modifiers for toughness or armor. A Monster may not use its bite Attack(s) if its opponent has not been webbed.

[sign in to see URL] the gigantic Spider can only attack a webbed opponent and will only do 1D6 damage, why would the damage dice be listed as 2 (2D6)?

Could this be another Games Workshop inconsistency?

Last edited by RedDogMT, 1/Feb/2014, 1:57 am
31/Jan/2014, 8:17 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: Gigantic Spider Damage


Correct. Another inconsistency. The Damage Dice is irrelevant. It should read "Special" instead.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
31/Jan/2014, 9:27 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Gigantic Spider Damage


I agree it is an inconsistancy. Note that the Gigantic Spider has TWO Attacks. So, if a Warriors is already webbed, the damage would be 1D6 TWO times, which would just as easily be rolled as 2D6. My reasoning has always been that they were just thinking this through slightly differently when they listed the damage.

EDIT: BUT, now that I look at the Giant Spider entries (NOT the Gigantic ones) in the Monster Tables, I see that they listed them as having 1 Damage Dice, which is totally wrong! Oh dear!

Last edited by OldWarrior, 31/Jan/2014, 10:23 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
31/Jan/2014, 10:19 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Re: Gigantic Spider Damage


As I suspected!!!! Thanks guys. emoticon
1/Feb/2014, 1:58 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Aellea Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 05-2015
Posts: 17
Reply | Quote
Re: Gigantic Spider Damage


What is with definition of 'webbed'?

If a Warrior is attacked by more than one spider, and is webbed by the first, do other spiders get automatic bite attack or just +2 to Hit with their own webs?

There is a rule for Goblin Netter with similar special attack, which allows a Warrior to be 'netted' more than once. Every Goblin rolls to hit separately.

Do other spiders cooperate or need to web already 'webbed' Warrior as well before biting?
21/May/2015, 9:12 pm Link to this post Send Email to Aellea   Send PM to Aellea Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: Gigantic Spider Damage


Once webbed, a Warrior is automatically hit and suffers Damage from any subsequent spider attack.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
21/May/2015, 9:18 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)