Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
More than one of a treasure card


Yes, I am making new thread about this.
The last one wandered off about how to control out-of-control wizard characters.
The discussion about this got lost and I want to continue it.

Some here want to keep all treasure cards, no matter what they are, to only one of them.
That was despite the Dispel Scrolls which there were two of in TP#3 and the Gauntlet of Damzhar which specifically spoke of having more than one on a character in the Roleplay Book.

Others spoke of having a frequency chart of some variety to deal with the matter.
Never saw that in the rules so it is some house rule matter made up some where.

Personally, I just go by what the cards say.
So for me that covers:
The Hammer of Sigmar (RPB & TP1)
Axe of Slaying (RPB & TP2)
Le Marquis Stones (TP1,2,3)
{missing four other stones according to fluff}
Axe of Khemri (CofT)
Helm of Alcadizzar (CofT)
The Kingshield of Tilea (CofT)
Orb of Sigmar (CofT)
Talisman of Alcadizzar (CofT)
The Hammer of Hargon (LotOL)

Three others in Catacombs of Terror could be read as singular items, but nothing is definitive in the text; meanwhile, another item says there were many of the item made.
In Lair of the Orc Lord there are two items with a possessive apostrophe 's', but the text does not support a definitive singular item.

Am I missing any other items that specifically say there is only one or there is many?
What is your opinion on the topic or a specific treasure?
Please join the conversation.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
19/Sep/2014, 6:03 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 269
Reply | Quote
Re: More than one of a treasure card


most of those I have not heard of, I only have the "only one hammer of sigmar" rule at my table

otherwise I am pretty happy with duplicates in the same party.

I do make the rule that a warrior can *typically* only benefit from one of the same item at a time

---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
23/Sep/2014, 4:16 am Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: More than one of a treasure card


Edquest, do you own the two adventure packs?
CofT=Catacombs of Terror
LotOL=Lair of the Orc Lord
Do you own any of the Treasure Card Packs (TP1/2/3)?
RPB=Role Play Book.
The items I mentioned afore are in the above sets/packs/book.

Yes, the card/"blurb in RPB" says you can have only one Hammer of Sigmar in a party, but the fluff makes it perfectly clear that is also the case in the other treasure items I mentioned.
If something was used in the past by a singular person, then there is only one of the item.
Or at least that makes sense to me as a historian so that is how we play them here.

Thanks Edquest for your comment.
I would love to hear more from everyone.

Last edited by Warrior Monk, 23/Sep/2014, 9:41 am


---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
23/Sep/2014, 9:40 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)