Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
robertpzent Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 11-2014
Posts: 1
Reply | Quote
Chaos Warrior + Luck


Can Luck or Mark of the Chaos be used to make Rolls when attempting to find a chaos temple?

Can luck be used for offerings when he prays?

Can it be used for the Path of the Chaos Table when leveling? (if so, can you reroll one dice? or Do you reroll all the dice whether is 3 or 2)

Can it be used for characteristic Roles/attribute roles/artefact roles?

11/Nov/2014, 3:08 am Link to this post Send Email to robertpzent   Send PM to robertpzent Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


Yes to all.

On the Path of Chaos Table, you must reroll the entire roll, which includes both dice.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
11/Nov/2014, 3:11 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


I find this topic interesting, because I have always thought that Warriors cannot use Luck to reroll anything involved in training (meaning rolling for a skill or on random tables during the training process), but it seems the RolePlay Book supports Littlemonk's answers.

I quote part of the section on Luck here:

quote:

At the start of each adventure take a number of Luck tokens equal to your Warrior's current Luck. At any time you like during the game, you may discard one of your Warrior's Luck tokens and re-roll any one dice roll that has just been made, whichever player made it.

Remember that each adventure includes the time spent at Settlements, the journey time between cave systems, etc., and that Luck can be used here too!



It does seem to allow the use of Luck for training, since training is done while the Warriors are in a settlement -- or for some, like the Wardancer, during the journey between cave systems and/or settlement.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 11/Nov/2014, 3:38 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
11/Nov/2014, 3:09 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 269
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


I thought this had been discussed on here before a luck was not able to be used on level ups too.

I even changed the game to that, having previously allowed it to be used for rolls for skills etc.

oh well emoticon

---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
17/Nov/2014, 7:48 am Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


quote:

Edquest wrote:

I thought this had been discussed on here before a luck was not able to be used on level ups too.

I even changed the game to that, having previously allowed it to be used for rolls for skills etc.

oh well emoticon



You might be right. I shall search for it.

EDIT: I searched and did not find it. (so far)

Last edited by OldWarrior, 17/Nov/2014, 11:33 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
17/Nov/2014, 11:17 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 269
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


it is in the FAQ

"Q: Can Luck be used to re-roll rolls made when going up in Battle-level? For example, to re-roll added Power, Wounds, Spell learning dice or Skill rolls.
A: No. Using Luck indicates "... how many times he may re-roll ... during a single Adventure" RPB p. 42. Training takes place "when the Warriors are between adventures" RPB p. 41 - it's a special case, training is not really part of a standard "adventure." (GWUK) "

so luck cannot be used for level up.
but I have been playing lucky charms, chaos marks and other "re-roll one die at any time" things that are *not luck* do enable this.

not really sure if this should be happening or not either now!

---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
28/Dec/2014, 8:51 pm Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


Good catch!

As for lucky charms, Mark of Chaos, etc. - i would assume that anything used "during an Adventure" should not be used "between Adventures."

This makes the whole training process a lot different! Brutal.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
29/Dec/2014, 5:19 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 269
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


makes the noble skill that regenerates all of his luck on arrival back in a settlement weird too.

chaos warrior is going to be a bit more loose cannony with that

---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
29/Dec/2014, 8:14 am Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


quote:

Edquest wrote:

makes the noble skill that regenerates all of his luck on arrival back in a settlement weird too.



Not necessarily. It's only the 'Training' part where the Noble can't use Luck. There's still a lot of Settlement activity where he'll be able to it.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
29/Dec/2014, 5:47 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Chaos Warrior + Luck


Yeah, Littlemonk's conclusion(s) is the same as mine. The thing in question that was being addressed by the FAQ was Training, whereas pretty much all other "between Adventures" activities, could still be affected by Luck and similar things per the RolePlay Book statement that I quoted earlier.

I am quoting again the specific line which applies here:

quote:


Remember that each adventure includes the time spent at Settlements, the journey time between cave systems, etc., and that Luck can be used here too!



Last edited by OldWarrior, 30/Dec/2014, 3:04 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
30/Dec/2014, 3:02 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)