Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2  3 

 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Dwarf Slayer


I have an interesting situation here.

Background:
New player started last night; had lived back East somewhere - Maryland - I think.
He plays four of the character pack adventurers including the Slayer.
He had not read the Dwarf skills section of the Roleplay book until we brought it up last night.
I called and verified the truth of that with the guy that ran the WHQ games he had played in back East.
In fact, last night was the first time the guy back East had read that section too; no Dwarf Warrior players in that group - ever.

The question/issue at hand is:
Does the Dwarf Slayer's axes have the same rune limit as the Dwarf Warrior's axes?
As in the 2 runes/level limit as specified in the Roleplay book.
The Dwarf Slayer's rule book has no rune limit mentioned whatsoever.

Second Q: do the runes acquired through treasure cards count towards that 2 runes/level limit on a Dwarf Warrior and a Slayer, if the 2 runes/level count against him as well?

There was a tense moment last night.
The guy's Level 6 Slayer has 19 runes on his axe acquired through the Guildmasters' Runesmith, Slayer Shrine's Inner Chamber Runesmith and treasure cards.
I let him play through and I like what I saw.
The Slayer saved the day a few times for the party adventuring through my Advanced (aka Hard) Wizard Zoo, and so they made it through to the end.
The guy did not get a unreasonably greater amount of the monsters, but he did get just a bit more.
I do not feel he unbalanced the situation, but there was some "muttering" by a couple of my players.

I am looking for you all's take on this.
Please opine away.
Thank you.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
21/Dec/2014, 7:46 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 269
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


personally I would say typically the limit would count, but that treasure item runes and slayer shrine runes would not count.

the reason I say this is that it seems the runesmith is making the decision of "you are not powerful/worthy enough to handle this"

secondly I might be willing to allow a slayer to slide on this simply because they are so limited in what actual stuff they can use anyway.

this has never come up in my games and I've had a number of slayers get all the way to around level 8 or so (then stopped playing for whatever reason rather than dying. normally this is 6 months or so of not having time then wanting to start fresh rather than continue again)


---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
21/Dec/2014, 10:19 pm Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


I am inclined to say that the limitation should apply to only the runes acquired at the Dwarf Guildmasters. Also, I think that since the Trollslayer is a Dwarf he should not be an exception to this rule.

By the way, I would like to emphasize that the limit is on how many runes a single axe can have inscribed on it. A Dwarf can have any number of runes if he has several axes upon which to inscribe them. Since a Warrior can choose to change his weapon at the beginning of each turn, this limitation is not terribly restrictive.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
22/Dec/2014, 3:28 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


I like that idea - that the particular rule only applies to the runesmith at the Dwarf Guildmasters.
All nice and neat within a symmetrical circle found inside the RolePlay book all by itself.
 
And in fact, I think the new guy's Slayer would be legal under that ruling.
He had six runes just from treasure cards!

Does anyone else have something we missed?!?
That way I do not look like some fool six-ways from Sunday.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
23/Dec/2014, 7:27 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Arcmage Loxxis Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 02-2015
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


If I remember correctly the Trollslayers come with an equipment card, Rune Axe, and it has no limit to the number of runes. I like the idea of a dwarf/slayer having the 2/level limit apply to the regular runesmith though.
2/Feb/2015, 12:58 am Link to this post Send Email to Arcmage Loxxis   Send PM to Arcmage Loxxis Blog
 
Arcmage Loxxis Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 02-2015
Posts: 2
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


If I remember correctly the Trollslayers come with an equipment card, Rune Axe, and it has no limit to the number of runes. I like the idea of a dwarf/slayer having the 2/level limit apply to the regular runesmith though.
2/Feb/2015, 2:01 am Link to this post Send Email to Arcmage Loxxis   Send PM to Arcmage Loxxis Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


Hey Arcmage. The Trollslayer book says there is no limit to the number of rune from the Trollslayer Shrine that the Runeaxe can have on it.

The core question here is really related to treasure cards that grant runes. I do not believe GW ever made a rule limiting how many of those runes can be placed on a weapon.
2/Feb/2015, 8:05 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


RedDog, for those of us that apparently missed it, could you please tell us where in the Trollslayer book it says there is no limit on the runes from the Runesmith at the Shrine.
I know I would really appreciate it.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
2/Feb/2015, 11:02 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


No problem...

In the Dwarf Trollslayer book, it is on page 5, two paragraphs after the description of Rune of Rage.
In the Roleplay Book, it is the last paragraph of page 174.

They say the following:
It is possible to put as many runes of this nature as you wish on a single weapon, as you get them.

My interpretation of runes of this nature only refers to runes gained from the Trollslayer Shrine.

Last edited by RedDogMT, 2/Feb/2015, 1:41 pm
2/Feb/2015, 1:38 pm Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Dwarf Slayer


Wow, that was most certainly speedy!
Especially with the usual lag time on this forum.

Thank you!

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
2/Feb/2015, 2:28 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2  3 





You are not logged in (login)