Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

Page:  1  2 

 
Ehstevey Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2014
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
How do firebombs work?


The wording seems particularly ambiguous on the Firebomb card, so due to it being a magical item and not specifically a missile weapon (just that it is 'thrown' but not as a throwing axe or dagger which specifies it as a missile weapon), we stated that like most items it could be spammed ad infinitum during the warrior's turn up to the alloted charges.

So firstly: do people think that Firebombs are missile weapons? Personally I don't, so this could for example be used by an Ogre.

secondly: if they are not missile weapons, can they be effectively spammed all at once (up the usual amount given when the treasure drops) given that there is no limit on the per turn use?

Looking to get some interesting interpretations here.
23/Jan/2015, 9:36 am Link to this post Send Email to Ehstevey   Send PM to Ehstevey Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 54
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


Do people think that Firebombs are missile weapons?
No

Can they be effectively spammed all at once?
Yes

If the Firebomb was considered a missile weapon, it would be labeled as one in the book.

This is the excerpt from the Roleplay Book about Firebombs:
Firebomb
A firebomb may be thrown at any time and affects an area 2 squares by 2 squares. Any model in the area takes 1D6 Wounds, with no deductions for Toughness or armour.
23/Jan/2015, 10:12 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Ehstevey Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2014
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


Here was the particular situation in which this came up and how we resolved it:

objective room of the Dread King (well after a hilarious entry into the dungeon resulting in a portcullis dropping to block off the dungeon, then a collapsing roof, and then finding the key to the portcullis in the same cascading event draw).

Ogre had 3 Firebombs (couldn't give them away) but also had the Hammer of Spite (when a monster is placed blah blah).

So Dread King event occured(on his throne with the book tile in front of him), and along side him were 8 skeleton warriors, who were all blocking access to him in B2B (as they were placed the furthest away). So bascially as the skeletons were placed, firebomb the crap out of them (any time) then hammer of spite directly next to the dread king and slam him with the hammer before he gets the first turn.

So was this a legitimate move (simultaneously bomb the skeletons then hammer of spite into the Dread King) or did I fudge up something fierce?
23/Jan/2015, 10:19 am Link to this post Send Email to Ehstevey   Send PM to Ehstevey Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


I personally do not see a problem with your scenario by my understanding of the rules. It is a rather interesting combination, having some Firebombs along with the Hammer of Spite, especially since it was an Ogre involved! emoticon

Also, I agree with RedDogMT's answers.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 23/Jan/2015, 11:55 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
23/Jan/2015, 11:51 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Ehstevey Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2014
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


It gets even better when you activate the rune of +2d6 damage (potentialy 4d6+4 damage on a roll of a 5+ to hit, or 3d6+4 which isn't shabby) and follow up with the Mace of +2 Attacks as you still receive your regular turns after the initial hammer of spite attacks (should the target be lucky enough to survive).

Objective rooms become ridiculously easy, then again the Ogre is a terribly easy character to kill in settlements since he cannot back down the duels and such. Then again, in the grim darkness of Warhammer Quest, 'there are no winners; just survivors'.

Don't know how you can kill an ogre with a single stab through the heart though, that gut is supposed to be pretty darn strong.

Getting OT though, enough here for an Ogre thread in itself.
23/Jan/2015, 12:02 pm Link to this post Send Email to Ehstevey   Send PM to Ehstevey Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 269
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


yes that would be fine at my table.

it won't make mincemeat of Objective rooms in level 2-3 dungeons as at level 4 mummies and dragon ogres appear each with 40 wounds each and T and A combined of f and 7 respectively.

and that's not thinking about magical items on enemies!

the memorable time of the pit fighter hammering away on a skaven death lord assassin who was wearing a warpstone amulet when that fateful die came up a 1 and the pit fighter took the full damage of one of his own attacks...

there are some combo's which work too well at some levels but in a couple more become nice but not game changing.

example:
lucky talisman for a noble: all attacks automatically hit for one turn. on a noble this means any enemy he can wound will eventually die as each attack that hits gives another attack which will also hit and so on.
this is ridiculous when you first fine it, but in a few levels it becomes less impressive
(but still very good)

---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
23/Jan/2015, 6:55 pm Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


quote:

Ehstevey wrote:

Here was the particular situation in which this came up and how we resolved it:

objective room of the Dread King (well after a hilarious entry into the dungeon resulting in a portcullis dropping to block off the dungeon, then a collapsing roof, and then finding the key to the portcullis in the same cascading event draw).

Ogre had 3 Firebombs (couldn't give them away) but also had the Hammer of Spite (when a monster is placed blah blah).

So Dread King event occured(on his throne with the book tile in front of him), and along side him were 8 skeleton warriors, who were all blocking access to him in B2B (as they were placed the furthest away). So bascially as the skeletons were placed, firebomb the crap out of them (any time) then hammer of spite directly next to the dread king and slam him with the hammer before he gets the first turn.

So was this a legitimate move (simultaneously bomb the skeletons then hammer of spite into the Dread King) or did I fudge up something fierce?



This all sounds strange to me.

Firstly, you state that there was "no access" to the Dread King. Does that mean that he's surrounded by skeletons, or were there just skeletons between the Warriors and the Dread King? There has to be an "empty space" next to the Dread King for the Warrior to be placed using the Hammer of Spite, as stated on the card. This sounds unlikely since the rules for placing the Dread King include placing his minions when he appears:

"He will always appear with his minions, and these Monsters surround him upon his throne."

So the Hammer of Spite sounds very unlikely to be playable on the Dread King since he only needs 4 minions to surround him, thus cutting the Warriors off from such an attack.

Secondly, you could not use the Firebombs during the Monsters' Phase (which is the Phase happening when Monsters are being placed). Since using the Hammer of Spite is a special "Ambush Attack" that happens when the Monsters are being placed (the Monsters' Phase), i don't see how you can throw Firebombs? At any time during the Warrior's Phase, perhaps, but not anytime during the game. It is the Monsters' Phase, not the Warriors' Phase. The Hammer of Spite doesn't allow the Warrior to take an extra turn, but only to make a "Special Ambush Attack."


quote:

Ehstevey wrote:
It gets even better when you activate the rune of +2d6 damage (potentialy 4d6+4 damage on a roll of a 5+ to hit, or 3d6+4 which isn't shabby) and follow up with the Mace of +2 Attacks as you still receive your regular turns after the initial hammer of spite attacks (should the target be lucky enough to survive).



Thirdly, the Runestone of Death can be burned onto a "single blade" - not a single weapon. So neither the Hammer nor the Mace can have such a Rune.

Whenever you see a "cheat" in the game, I recommend to re-examine the items and rules carefully. It usually means that you're missing something important. It is my experience that people who usually exploit these type of scenarios are often playing wrong. I have been guilty of this on numerous occasions.

If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
25/Jan/2015, 7:39 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


Case in point:


quote:

Edquest wrote:

yes that would be fine at my table.

it won't make mincemeat of Objective rooms in level 2-3 dungeons as at level 4 mummies and dragon ogres appear each with 40 wounds each and T and A combined of f and 7 respectively.

and that's not thinking about magical items on enemies!

the memorable time of the pit fighter hammering away on a skaven death lord assassin who was wearing a warpstone amulet when that fateful die came up a 1 and the pit fighter took the full damage of one of his own attacks...

there are some combo's which work too well at some levels but in a couple more become nice but not game changing.

example:
lucky talisman for a noble: all attacks automatically hit for one turn. on a noble this means any enemy he can wound will eventually die as each attack that hits gives another attack which will also hit and so on.
this is ridiculous when you first fine it, but in a few levels it becomes less impressive
(but still very good)





The rapier is addressed in the FAQ from GW. Essentially, the rapier can only "Attack" as many times as listed in the profile. So only the first Attack automatically hits, not any subsequent attacks related to the first Attack. Those must be rolled upon To Hit as normal, until he misses. In which case any other Attacks on his profile automatically hit (due to the Lucky Talisman) and the process begins over again, rolling To Hit until his misses.

And to clarify - the Lucky Talisman says "Any attack." It is singular, not plural. So you may only pick one attack to automatically hit, Once Per Adventure.

Last edited by Littlemonk, 25/Jan/2015, 9:02 pm


---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
25/Jan/2015, 8:56 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


Littlemonk brings up some important points.

I agree with his pionts concerning the Imperial Noble's use of the Lucky Talisman and the rune. I had not thought of that rune requiring a "bladed" weapon.

Concerning the use of Firebombs, I think that would be a matter of interpretation, because they say that they can be thrown at any time -- and they are not classified as using any actions or Attacks or anything.

Still, Littlemonk's point about the Hammer of Spite being used as soon as the monsters are placed brings up another issue of interpretation (IMO): would the Firebombs being thrown then disqualify the use of the Hammer of Spite, because of the fact that they were thrown as soon as the monsters were placed instead (perhaps) of using the Hammer of Spite at that moment?

I would probably still rule in favor of allowing the Firebombs to be used immediately and then the Hammer of Spite as well, but I do have a tendency to be soft on the Warriors.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
26/Jan/2015, 1:48 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 422
Reply | Quote
Re: How do firebombs work?


I have always felt that simplifying is the best solution to gray areas.

Main Rulebook, page 16:
During the Warriors' Phase, each of the players may move his Warrior and attack Monsters.

I might also add that the Warriors react in order of Initiative. Warriors cannot simply attack a Monster anytime they want to. The exception are Spells, which is clearly stated on page 30:

However, you can cast an Attack spell at any time during the phase, even during another player's turn if you wish.

Unlike healing items that can be used during any Phase, i don't think throwing a Spear, using Firebombs, Lightning Fire Ring or any other offensive action can be done at any time. It's just too ridiculous and seeks to circumvent the core rules.


Last edited by Littlemonk, 26/Jan/2015, 7:13 am


---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
26/Jan/2015, 6:27 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)