Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


Hey guys, I have always played that IF a 1 is rolled when an Orc Shaman casts the Brain Bursta spell, then the Warrior instantly dies and there is no way to recover from it except by means of a resurrection spell or similar. Of course, I also let a Warrior use Luck to force a reroll of that 1D6 that resulted in a 1, since it directly affects that Warrior. Obviously, anything that would stop the spell from working would also save the Warrior -- for example, if the target Warrior has Magic Resistance or if a Wizard were to cast a Dispel Magic spell.

Recent discussion about Warriors surviving a dungeon has given me some incentive to ask some specific questions like this: How do you play/interpret the Brain Bursta! spell?

I quote the spell below for reference (the specific result I am discussing in bold).

quote:

Brain Bursta. A bolt of power erupts from the Shaman's head. Draw a Warrior counter to determine which Warrior is targeted. Roll 2D6. If the score is greater than the target's Battle-level he is hit - roll 1D6:
1 The Warrior's head explodes, killing him instantly
2-5 The Warrior suffers (2 x the Dungeon level) Wounds, with no modifiers for Toughness or armour.
6 The Warrior suffers 1D6 Wounds, with no modifiers for Toughness or armour.



Last edited by OldWarrior, 9/Feb/2015, 3:51 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
9/Feb/2015, 3:45 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 53
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


That is the way we have always done it.

I am curious to see if anyone has a different interpretation.
9/Feb/2015, 11:49 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


I, too, cannot see another legal way to play the spell.

It would be cool if there was an item that would reflect the spell back at the shaman instead of just dispelling or destroying the spell, but that is for another game.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
10/Feb/2015, 7:26 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Ehstevey Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Champion
Global user

Registered: 12-2014
Posts: 22
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


Well, "killing him instantly" is a pretty definite term. I would use it as is, warrior is dead (not reduced to 0 wounds unfortunately, just dead and removed). This however would mean that items which rely on you going to 0 wounds to block the attack/effect won't work.

Though WM has given me an idea...

They made blank cards for a reason :P

Perhaps a hand mirror or polished silvered shield which can be used to reflect one spell back at the caster per dungeon?
13/Feb/2015, 8:16 pm Link to this post Send Email to Ehstevey   Send PM to Ehstevey Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


Your version of the "Spelleater Shield", eh?
The "Spell-reflector Shield" perhaps?

Last edited by Warrior Monk, 13/Feb/2015, 8:27 pm


---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
13/Feb/2015, 8:27 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


Or maybe a mystical speculum, yes? emoticon

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
13/Feb/2015, 8:38 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
RedDogMT Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero
Global user

Registered: 11-2011
Posts: 53
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


quote:

Ehstevey wrote:
Well, "killing him instantly" is a pretty definite term. I would use it as is, warrior is dead (not reduced to 0 wounds unfortunately, just dead and removed). This however would mean that items which rely on you going to 0 wounds to block the attack/effect won't work.


In our games it means "Kill that guy REALLY, REALLY quick!!!" or "Hope someone has a luck point just in case..." emoticon

14/Feb/2015, 7:34 am Link to this post Send Email to RedDogMT   Send PM to RedDogMT Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


quote:

RedDogMT wrote:

quote:

Ehstevey wrote:
Well, "killing him instantly" is a pretty definite term. I would use it as is, warrior is dead (not reduced to 0 wounds unfortunately, just dead and removed). This however would mean that items which rely on you going to 0 wounds to block the attack/effect won't work.


In our games it means "Kill that guy REALLY, REALLY quick!!!" or "Hope someone has a luck point just in case..." emoticon




Yeah, that is usually the way we handle the situation -- kill him quickly! emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
14/Feb/2015, 11:22 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 268
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


it's one of the reasons level 1 is more deadly than other levels!

orc shaman spells are awfully powerful on a level that most warriors have no luck.
(seriously look at all of them.)

but yes they die, no passing go, no collecting 200 gold

---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
15/Mar/2015, 7:01 pm Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1266
Reply | Quote
Re: Instant Death by Brain Bursta!


The Savage Orc Shaman is one of the reasons I did my own Level-One Monster Table. I eventually revised my own table, putting the Goblin Shaman (and other goblins to accompany him) into the level-one table INSTEAD of the Savage Orc Shaman (and his minions).

There are fairly clear indications (by way of a general reading of the basic rules and of the RolePlay Book) that the game designers never intended a fresh group of Warriors (right out of the box) would actually use the Monster Tables for the first Adventure -- remember the Monster Event cards emoticon. It seems to me that they included the level-one table in case you have one or two Warriors who have graduated to Battle-Level 2 while the others are still BL 1. Using the RolePlay Book Rules (as I understand them), you would have a 50% chance to have DL 1 or DL 2 monsters in an Adventure for a party of Warriors split down the middle (two BL 1 and two Bl 2 Warriors).

I quote the section in the RolePlay Book that deals with this below.

quote:

MIXED BATTLE-LEVELS
Sometimes a party of Warriors is split across a number of Battle-levels. This may happen if one Warrior gains just enough gold to go up one Battle-level, while the others fall just short. In this case, the Battle-level of the party as a whole is that of the majority of its members. If there isn't a majority, draw a Warrior counter: the Battle-level of the whole party is the same as that Warrior's Battle-level.



Side note: I have had a party with three different Battle-Levels at the same time. In such a case, I do the math, averaging them all together and IF it is exactly 2.5 (or any half-way number), for example, then I roll a die with 50% chance it is the lower level and 50% chance it is the higher level.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
16/Mar/2015, 1:25 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)