Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)


Page:  1  2 

 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Imperial Noble & his Dagger


The problem here is I do not see where he is given his dagger.
If he is not given one when trained, that means he has to buy one at the Weaponsmith.
If he buys one at the Weaponsmith, he then has to toss it every time he goes into Luigi & Salvatore.
That would mean he has to buy a new dagger after every time he goes to Luigi & Salvatore.
Expensive!

Would it matter if he used Runestone treasure on the dagger?
Would it then make it where he would not have to throw away the dagger every time?

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
20/Apr/2015, 11:00 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1262
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


Ah yes, this seems a tricky situation. However, I would argue that the way the skill is worded implies that he just has one -- or immediately has one once he gets the skill. From the wording, I think they were trying to avoid just this problem of always having to purchase a dagger in order to use the skill. I quote the skill below for reference.

quote:

The Imperial Noble is trained to use a dagger, for when the fighting gets really close. The Imperial Noble rarely goes anywhere without at least a couple concealed about his person. The dagger causes D6 + 1 damage.
If any result indicates that the Warriors are completely disarmed at any point, then the Noble will always have his dagger.
The Noble may use his dagger at the same time as another weapon, and the dagger gives him + 1 Attack. He must use this extra Attack to attack with his dagger.



---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
21/Apr/2015, 2:19 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


I would like that to be true, but it clashes with the Sabre skill's wording.
quote:

Sabre. The Imperial Noble is trained
in the use of a sabre. The sabre is a
long curved, slashing weapon best
employed from the back of a horse,
but equally useful for a trained
fencer on foot.

The sabre acts exactly like a normal
sword, doing 06+ the Imperial
Noble's Strength damage. However,
the style in which the blade is used
makes the Imperial Noble very
difficult to hit. When using the sabre
all Monsters attacking the Imperial
Noble are at -1 to hit.

The instructor gives the Noble a
sabre as a gift for passing his
training. If he loses it he may always
purchase another at Luigi &
Salvatori.


Can we get around this problem without going willy-nilly?

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
21/Apr/2015, 10:10 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1262
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


Yet, the best we can do in my opinion is see an implication -- not a clear statement -- concerning the dagger. I DO believe they should have spelled it out like they did for the Sabre, BUT they seemed to go a different route.

With the Sabre they actually listed it as an item that can be purchased at Luigi's. IF they intended that the Imperial Noble would have to purchase a dagger every time -- after visiting Luigi's -- then it seems to me that the following line is rather misleading and confusing: The Imperial Noble rarely goes anywhere without at least a couple concealed about his person. . I think especially the words rarely goes anywhere is a very strong implication that he WOULD keep a dagger concealed on his person while visiting Luigi's.

So, though I cannot say my view is 100% proven, I see the use of the dagger with this skill as an exception to the rule (though only implied) that the Imperial Noble must get rid of all non-Luigi equipment when he visits that location. BUT, IF the dagger is given to him as a result of gaining this skill, then he has NOT purchased it and this is then NOT an exception to the rule at all. lol

While looking at the rule about Luigi & Salvatore, I notice that it says he must get rid of any gear that he has purchased from anywhere else. So, in reference to using a treasure card rune on any item that was purchased at another shop, I do NOT see this as an exception to the rule, because the primary weapon, armour, or whatever was originally purchased at another location.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 21/Apr/2015, 3:12 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
21/Apr/2015, 3:00 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


I see your point.
I am just not sure I agree.

I guess I am just in favor that since he finds his treasure elsewhere, and he is making the dagger(s) be treasure with applying the runestones to them that the purchase & toss rules do not apply after that.
This makes the dagger(s) then treasure rather than simply a purchase.
Or at least that is what I am seeing.

I understand your POV though.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
22/Apr/2015, 6:25 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1262
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


I would not have a problem playing with people of your persuasion on the issue of the purchased item then being considered a treasure item by extension. I think there is plenty of room for interpretation. I have sometimes found myself taking an opposite stance on something when time goes by and I had forgotten my previous position on one of these sort of grey areas. emoticon

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
22/Apr/2015, 12:21 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
wreade1872 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice
Global user

Registered: 02-2012
Posts: 12
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


I don't see any issue with this, it clearly states he always has some daggers on him.
So even if you think he throws away daggers when going to L&S, he still has an infinity of daggers left. He never has to buy any. Even if he loses one in a dungeon he automatically has another handy.

Anyway i have a related issue, does the Dagger skill require a free hand to use?

I count the Lantern as taking up a hand, my Heiress (female imperial noble) also has a

Poisoned Stilleto - When Monsters placed, after Ambush, free attack causes 1D6+BL unmodified Wounds, 400.

Razor Claws - +1att, ignores armour.

And the Dagger skill.

For a while i used logic and decided she could use the Stiletto as its sort of its own thing but couldn't use the Claws or Dagger without a free hand. But i've recently decided screw it! this game is hard enough i'm using them all regardless of logic, plus combat can be quite fluid.

Maybe she impales someone with her sword, turns and stabs with the dagger before retrieving her sword. Then she surprises another by asking him to 'hold this' shoves the lantern into his arms before slicing open his neck with her Claws, then retrieves it with a 'thanks' as he sinks to the floor.
Anyway emoticon... other opinions welcome.
26/Aug/2016, 12:05 am Link to this post Send Email to wreade1872   Send PM to wreade1872 Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1262
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


quote:

wreade1872 wrote:

Maybe she impales someone with her sword, turns and stabs with the dagger before retrieving her sword. Then she surprises another by asking him to 'hold this' shoves the lantern into his arms before slicing open his neck with her Claws, then retrieves it with a 'thanks' as he sinks to the floor.
Anyway emoticon... other opinions welcome.



Sounds good to me!

By the way, in other discussion (elsewhere in this board) about the use of two hands... It seems the Barbarian gets to carry the Lantern even though he is allowed to use a plethora of two-handed weapons OR a shield and a one-handed weapon. emoticon

Last edited by OldWarrior, 26/Aug/2016, 8:42 am


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
26/Aug/2016, 8:41 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


quote:

OldWarrior wrote:

... It seems the Barbarian gets to carry the Lantern even though he is allowed to use a plethora of two-handed weapons OR a shield and a one-handed weapon. emoticon



I like the lantern solution the Dwarf Treasure Hunter toy soldier from Mordheim presents:
[sign in to see URL]

Granted, trying that for all figures would be a bit of a challenge.

Moreover, not all races are open to tech solutions to problems like the Dwarves are.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
26/Aug/2016, 9:04 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Imperial Noble & his Dagger


Had this come up today.

The Noble's booklet reads under the Dagger skill thusly:
quote:

The Noble may use his dagger at the same time as another weapon, and the dagger gives him + 1 Attack. He must use this extra Attack to attack with his dagger.


Therefore, can the Noble use the treasure Darting Steel Daggers in this fashion?

I ruled for the game that he could (since they are daggers), but I am looking for non-local input for further consideration and then establishment.

Thanks all.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
28/Aug/2016, 8:26 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2 





You are not logged in (login)