Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo


runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)


 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Wardancer


Question based off the Dance of Death skill on page 4 & 5 of the Wardancer booklet.

Copied from the booklet:
Special Skill - Dance of Death
In Warhammer Quest, a Warrior moves up to 4 squares a turn, and if this brings him into contact with the enemy, he may then fight. If a Warrior uses less than his total movement to reach his foe, his remaining movement is lost - once he starts fighting, he may not move again this turn.

The Wardancer is so agile, and so skilled with his weapons, that he can move, fight, move again and perhaps even fight again, all in one turn!

The Wardancer player should keep track of how many squares he moves each turn particularly when he is in combat. When fighting, if the Wardancer kills a Monster with one blow, he gets his death-blow as usual, including his special ability for his twin swords. If, having despatched his foe with a single blow, he is not in a position to make a death-blow, then the Wardancer's Dance of Death skill takes effect. He may now use any movement he has left to bring him into contact with Monsters, and then continue his death-blow, and so on. This continues until he either misses with his death-blow, fails to do enough damage to kill in a single blow, runs out of movement or has no more Monsters to fight.

As I understand it, this continues until:
1: misses with his death-blow;
2: fails to do enough damage to kill in a single blow;
3: runs out of movement;
4: has no more Monsters to fight.
Correct?

What about a fifth option?
5: has movement left, there are still Monsters to fight, but they are not within range of the remaining movement.
Can the Wardancer move his remaining movement towards the Monsters and then move and engage them either in a second Warrior Phase an artifact, spell or blessing provides this turn or simply in the Warrior Phase of the next turn?

In simpler terms, can the Wardancer use up the rest of his available movement, thanks to this skill, to get closer to Monsters that he does not have enough movement to immediately engage?

Thanks.

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
30/Jan/2017, 10:12 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Edquest Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2011
Posts: 267
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


i've always played it that way and assumed that is the intention.


---
most of my posts may run into essay length. I find that for a lot of queries/feedback context is important and that is why this happens more often than not.

have a great day :D
31/Jan/2017, 6:00 am Link to this post Send Email to Edquest   Send PM to Edquest Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God
Global user (premium)

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1262
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


I would agree. I see nothing wrong with him moving the rest of his movement, even though he is unable to reach another monster. I would even let him finish his movement IF he had killed the last monster of the combat. Hopefully, I am not too lenient.

---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
31/Jan/2017, 11:13 am Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


Gentlemen, thank you.
Still hope more folks reply with their take.

quote:

OldWarrior wrote:

I would agree. I see nothing wrong with him moving the rest of his movement, even though he is unable to reach another monster. I would even let him finish his movement IF he had killed the last monster of the combat. Hopefully, I am not too lenient.


Sorry OldWarrior, too lenient.
The Wardancer doing the extra movement with no Monsters present would violate #4.
Sorry. emoticon

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
31/Jan/2017, 2:50 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 407
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


He may now use any movement he has left to bring him into contact with Monsters...

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
1/Feb/2017, 8:51 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


quote:

Littlemonk wrote:

He may now use any movement he has left to bring him into contact with Monsters...


And therefore your position is what?

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
1/Feb/2017, 1:32 pm Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 407
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


That he may use any movement he has left to bring him into contact with Monsters...

---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
8/Feb/2017, 5:05 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


But if contact cannot be reached inside the constraints of that particular Warrior Phase?

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
8/Feb/2017, 6:00 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator
Global user

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 407
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


He can't continue moving since he cannot make contact with Monsters (as the rule states must be the case.)

Since the "Monster contact" rule is written before the rule "This continues until either..." then the "Monster contact" rule is in effect first. None of the rest of it matters if he isn't can't get into contact with a Monster.

If contact with a Monster cannot happen, then he cannot simply move toward a Monster. The intent of the Dance of Death Skill is about moving INTO contact with Monsters, not moving TOWARD Monsters. If contact can't happen, this skill is done.

(Besides, it's powerful enough already.)

Last edited by Littlemonk, 11/Feb/2017, 12:07 pm


---
Blessed are the curious for they shall have adventures.
11/Feb/2017, 5:20 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Warrior Monk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord
Global user

Registered: 09-2013
Location: Northern Rockies
Posts: 281
Reply | Quote
Re: Wardancer


Thank you Littlemonk.

Does anyone else have their own view?

---
In service of Deity, the Latter-day Prophet, the de la Valette and mankind.
11/Feb/2017, 10:06 am Link to this post Send Email to Warrior Monk   Send PM to Warrior Monk Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)