Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
Kylu Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 03-2018
Posts: 17
Reply | Quote
Trap


Hey Guys,

Is there any other way to get out of a pit trap except for then rope or lev spell?

Thanks,

Rob.
25/Feb/2019, 5:59 am Link to this post Send Email to Kylu   Send PM to Kylu Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 431
Reply | Quote
Re: Trap


Not in the regular rules. The Ogre Warrior has the ability to lift someone out of the pit. There are other spells that transport the Warriors out of the Dungeon. This would include the Warrior in the pit.

---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

25/Feb/2019, 9:37 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
AmazingLarry Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Novice

Registered: 08-2019
Posts: 4
Reply | Quote
Re: Trap


You can always incorporate the warrior's actions from the roleplay section. Have the warrior attempt a jump action to get out, with possible modifiers. I never played as a DM but incorporating the roleplay actions is something I'm considering with my next party.
27/Aug/2019, 4:26 pm Link to this post Send Email to AmazingLarry   Send PM to AmazingLarry Blog
 
Sith Kinks Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 44
Reply | Quote
Re: Trap


It's worth noting that in the original rules it states all parties always start with all 4 original equipment items, including the rope:

quote:

Share out the extra Equipment cards randomly amongst the extra Warriors. There is always only one of each item, so even if there are four Dwarfs there is only ever one rope.
~ page 40, RPB



I think most people assume that the later Warrior expansion packs with their own equipment cards supersede the original 4 equipment cards. However, I don't believe that is actually stated anywhere.
29/Aug/2019, 9:57 am Link to this post Send Email to Sith Kinks   Send PM to Sith Kinks Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 431
Reply | Quote
Re: Trap


quote:

Sith Kinks wrote:

It's worth noting that in the original rules it states all parties always start with all 4 original equipment items, including the rope:

quote:

Share out the extra Equipment cards randomly amongst the extra Warriors. There is always only one of each item, so even if there are four Dwarfs there is only ever one rope.
~ page 40, RPB



I think most people assume that the later Warrior expansion packs with their own equipment cards supersede the original 4 equipment cards. However, I don't believe that is actually stated anywhere.



I think that's a stretch. The rules you mentioned are specifically designed for parties that have more than one of the same kind of Warrior (since there are not 2 Ropes for 2 Dwarfs in the game, although it could be argued that in the Advanced Rules one could easily just write it on the Record Sheet). But it would not be fair to allow extra Equipment Items just because you're playing an Expansion Warrior who already starts with Equipment. Doing that isn't consistent with the basic party makeup of everyone having one piece of Equipment. Now, if you're suggesting that a Warrior could "trade" their Starting Equipment for one of the original ones not being used, then i think that would be fair. I think that anything otherwise is an abuse of interpretation and gives a huge incentive NOT to use the original 4 Warriors (which i do not believe was the intent).

I had once played a few games the way you interpreted, but upon further review decide against it. Taking the entire context and the entire section that it appears in, quickly changed my perception.

Last edited by Littlemonk, 31/Aug/2019, 1:56 pm


---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

31/Aug/2019, 1:47 pm Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Sith Kinks Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 09-2013
Posts: 44
Reply | Quote
Re: Trap


I have to say I usually forget myself. The wizards scroll very much seems to be his own item and the elfs potion doesn't usually seem necessary as alternative Warriors have starting healing options (e.g. The pit fighter, trollslayer and witch hunter). But, the lantern and rope both seem to be essential for a starting party, unless you happen to have an Ogre or levitate.
2/Sep/2019, 4:18 pm Link to this post Send Email to Sith Kinks   Send PM to Sith Kinks Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 431
Reply | Quote
Re: Trap


It's true that the Lantern is required as stated in the rules (someone must always carry the Lantern). And although the rope improves the chances of survival, that is just the downside of not having the original Dwarf in the party! emoticon

It's kind of the same as the Wizard Spells - it's just the luck of the draw, but some will argue that the Wizard should always have the [spell name here] spell in order to survive the Dungeon.

But we all bend the rules in order to create a game where we can enjoy ourselves. If it will ruin your night to get trapped in a pit, by all means, all someone to have the Rope Starting Equipment! Of course in that case, an alternative is to remove the pit events from the game! emoticon

---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

3/Sep/2019, 1:53 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)