Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Community logo






runboard.com       Register for a free global account (learn about it) | Log in: (), globally (lost password?)

 
lord mavik Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 08-2011
Posts: 45
Reply | Quote
Question - Magic Resists


How do people handle magic resist vs spells that have a AoE effect on lots a monsters/party?


How about if a player has Magic Resists and a creature has the the reflect damage magic armour?
If the player makes his magic resist check when the armour reflects the damage, what happens?
24/Nov/2011, 8:23 am Link to this post Send Email to lord mavik   Send PM to lord mavik Blog
 
OldWarrior Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

God

Registered: 04-2006
Location: USA, Western hemisphere, earth
Posts: 1273
Reply | Quote
Re: Question - Magic Resists


I like your questions.

Area effects are tricky. I generally allow each monster to roll for magic resistance versus the effects which would him them. For instance, if there are four Chaos Dwarfs (Mag. Res. 6 I think), then I would roll for each one. Those that resist do not suffer the effects, but those that fail DO suffer. By the way, I usually roll for magic spell effects damage separately for each model in the target area.

The Pit of Despair is a very special spell in that the effect is permanent -- a change to the physical properties of the floor of the dungeon! I have not yet come up with a consistent answer for whether I will allow Magic Resistance to work against that spell. I must think that one through some more... emoticon

In relation to armour which reflects the magic effects... I would first check to see whether the armour works, since that would probably be on the monster's best interest emoticon. IF it fails, then I would roll for the monster's magic resistance.

Last edited by OldWarrior, 24/Nov/2011, 1:53 pm


---
Old Warrior

Check out Bible Notes
It is one of my favorite places on the Internet.
God bless you, everyone!
24/Nov/2011, 1:52 pm Link to this post Send Email to OldWarrior   Send PM to OldWarrior Blog
 
lord mavik Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 08-2011
Posts: 45
Reply | Quote
Re: Question - Magic Resists


Think I got you confused about the armour and magic resists.

Example -
1) Player hits a Chaos Warrior that has the magic armour equiped that reflects damage back when that Chaos Warrior rules a 1.

2) That Chaos Warrior has the magic armour equiped that reflects damage back when that Chaos Warrior rules a 1. Which he does.

3) The damage is magically reflect back onto the player.

4) The player has a Magic Resist 6+.
Does that player get to roll his magic resist to see if he can avoid that 'reflected damage'?
28/Nov/2011, 11:44 pm Link to this post Send Email to lord mavik   Send PM to lord mavik Blog
 
Nachie Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 08-2011
Posts: 102
Reply | Quote
Re: Question - Magic Resists


Why not?
29/Nov/2011, 2:05 am Link to this post Send Email to Nachie   Send PM to Nachie Blog
 
lord mavik Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Hero

Registered: 08-2011
Posts: 45
Reply | Quote
Re: Question - Magic Resists


quote:

Nachie wrote:

Why not?



So if it can be Resisted, then can the Wizard use his Magic Dispel?


PS. This actually came up on us and we had some 'discussion' on it with no clear opinion.
29/Nov/2011, 5:40 am Link to this post Send Email to lord mavik   Send PM to lord mavik Blog
 
Littlemonk Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 07-2008
Posts: 433
Reply | Quote
Re: Question - Magic Resists


Magic Resistance is against Spells only. So no, he cannot use Magic Resistance to avoid the effects of magic items, magic armour, or magic weapons. (Unless the magic item casts a spell)

---
Warhammer Quest Fanpage

Warhammer Quest Customized

29/Nov/2011, 9:10 am Link to this post Send Email to Littlemonk   Send PM to Littlemonk
 
Nachie Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Lord

Registered: 08-2011
Posts: 102
Reply | Quote
Re: Question - Magic Resists


On second thought, I agree with LM on this. If only for the sake of simplicity!

Although I did always imagine that magical armor and such which reflects damage back on you was somehow metaphysically transferring the force of the blow rather than, say, bouncing the axe back in the attacker's face (which would be especially goofy once you start talking about missile attacks).
29/Nov/2011, 9:52 pm Link to this post Send Email to Nachie   Send PM to Nachie Blog
 


Add a reply





You are not logged in (login)